Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1999 SLK 230
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
On a 1999 SLK230 I just started noticing the headliner was becoming more wrinkled along the edge. I'm suspecting a possible leak of hydraulic fluid but the roof works flawlessly at this point in time. Has anyone experienced the wrinkling of a headliner and what the cause was? Thanks

Attachments

·
Registered
2001 SLK230 Sport
84 Posts
I believe you're on the right track. You're lucky to have caught it before oil began pouring into the interior.

My advice would be to avoid using the top until you can create a plan of the repair, at which point you'll need to open the top. Best idea would be to cover the interior plastic before doing so.

I'm far from an expert on Varioroofs, but I have a decent amount of experience with automotive hydraulics. When one seal in a system fails the others will not be too far behind. If it's a decent car that you (or the owner) plan on keeping, my suggestion would be to do all of the cylinders at once and be done with it.

HTH and good luck!

·
Registered
1998 , SLK 230
224 Posts
Roof locking cylinder O rings needs to be replaced. Lots of info on this on the various R170 forums.

I used a kit from the US ebay which had comprehensive instructions included. Watch you don't scratch the piston shaft during the replacement process.

When the hydraulic repair was completed, I cleaned up the headliner board and had it recovered in black fabric to match my seats. Cost $50 for a motor trimmer to do it as I'm no good with fabrics. The fabric will let me see immediately if the leak starts again.

My other cylinders haven't failed yet - the roof cylinder is exposed to the heat from the Australian sun. I hope the other cylinders keep functioning as repairs on them are much more difficult than the roof one.

·
Registered
1999 SLK 230
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #5