Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
'85 300D Turbo
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After several inches of rain, I found more water on the floor (I thought I had solved the problem by cleaning the drains). When it started raining again yesterday, I sat in the car and found water leaking through the windshield gasket. My question is should I try to replace the gasket myself (I've never done glass work before), or should I call my local glass shop? If I go with the local shop, should I let them get me a new gasket, or should I order one from performanceproducts, or another place? Thanks!!

-Tim

·
Registered
2005 w203, 2013 Town & Country
2,180 Posts
i would get the gasket from here, GermanStar should have it....then take it to a glass guy for teh work...its worth it if you dont know / never did it before...some will say to lay in the flowable sealant and others say do it dry...if your glass is old - youll love the new one!

jake

·
Premium Member
W-1-2-3 Go!
16,161 Posts
I'm also experiencing this, so while this is on topic I would like to ask: if the windshield gets broken while fixing the gasket/seal leak, how much would it cost to replace, and where do I get one? Dealership?

·
Registered
2,180 Posts
well i imagine you could, but PPG sells one, thats what i put in...and it was like $150 - well worth it to not have a bad (scratchd,chipped)piece of glass...
jake

·
Registered
'85 300D Turbo
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
My glass is fine, it just leaks, but I guess for $150 I might as well replace it. What's PPG?

·
Registered
2,180 Posts
aftermarket manufacturer...mostly known for their paints....you local glass guy should be able to get it - if you need a PN i should have it.
jake

A

·
0 Posts
WELCOME TO THE CLUB!!!!!