Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
2000 ML 430 (W163 - A1646xx)
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all. :)

...complete newbie here who is WAY IN OVER HIS HEAD!

I've had this very loud and constant knocking sound in the dash of my 2000 ML 430 (A1646xx - 143,000 miles) and so with the long weekend, I thought I'd just rip apart the entire dash and see if I could fix it (...obviously...I'm way too impulsive and also not very smart :banghead:

...anyway...now I've got a car that is in pieces and I'm wondering, if I turn the ignition to the accessories position, what will happen?

I'm sure it will throw more than a few error codes which will probably have to be cleared by a reputable shop (and I can live with that) but will anything REALLY BAD happen? For instance, is there ANY chance one or more airbags will blow if I turn the key while the car in its current state?

Maybe another way to ask this is; what is the minimum set of items I need to re-attach to the main wiring harness before I can safely re-attach the battery and turn the ignition to the accessories postion? Do I need to re-attach the instrument cluster? What about the center instrument controls or the radio/navi unit? How about the passenger air bag?

...thanks in advance, for any help you can offer this complete knucklehead.

--Steve

·
Premium Member
2000 ML55 sold? 2013 ML500,? 2015 C250 estate wagon, 1927 Dodge 4 sedan, 1929 Dodge
4,926 Posts
personaly, i would have disconnnected the battery way before that stage.It dosn't look like much would work if you did turn the key to acc. but i wouldn't. Good luck with all that i hope you find that noise and get it back together.....

·
Premium Member
2004 CLK 240 Coupe
11,377 Posts
Maybe another way to ask this is; what is the minimum set of items I need to re-attach to the main wiring harness before I can safely re-attach the battery and turn the ignition to the accessories postion?