Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
Daily Drive 82 240D 4 speed
291 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Since the start of my new job, despite being a college student I am actually able to save some money instead of breaking even every week!!! So im looking to upgrade from the ol' 85 turbo beater.

my problem is i have fallen in LOVE with it, and after helping out at a car shop/dealership they've offered to sell me any A4 or A6 at cost. Super nice of them, but the owner/w123 fanatic is also selling his 240D which is MINT. It's got about 150k miles, manual transmission, and it's such a solid car.

Now I know my girlfriend and most of my friends would call me a fool if I didn't go for the super discounted audi, but they aren't built anything like these w123's. I've also personally worked on this 240D. I know that car inside and out and I can say it's got A LOT of life left in it. Even by mercedes diesel standards.

Either way I go i'll probably keep the 85 turbo just for my solo-commuting, skate park travels, snow drifting, and off roading, and then keep the new to me car nice mainly driven around in with the lady or friends on when going out.

(240D selling for 3k, I would be considering spending up to 6K for the audi's)[requiring a loan for those]

·
Registered
507 Posts
If it were my choice, I would steer clear of the Audis. I can't see anything good about them.

I would stick with the old MB, but I'm not sure I'd go for a 240D. I was talking to someone the other day who has a 300DT just like mine and he used to own a 240D for about 15 years but felt it was dangerously slow in today's traffic. He's had his 300DT since 2002 and put over 100,000 on it, and it has enough power for him.

·
Registered
1991 300 SE
18,534 Posts
my problem is i have fallen in LOVE with it, and after helping out at a car shop/dealership they've offered to sell me any A4 or A6 at cost.