Mercedes-Benz Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking to hear from those who have experience driving a C230 Sport in the snow.

I'm a good driver, and I'm used to driving rear wheel drive cars in all conditions (Massachusetts). Until now my winter car has been my 5 speed 1995 BMW 525i, with Michelin Pilot Alpine tires. Its been fantastic in even the biggest snow storms.

After buying the C230, my plan was to sell the 525i and get a set of winter rims and tires for the Merc. Now I'm kinda questioning it... The suspension on the C230 is a lot stiffer than the 525 and I'm wondering how it will be in the winter with snow tires????

On the other hand its stupid for me to keep the 525i, because then I've got two summer-only cars. Getting the winter rims and tires for the Merc would be the best option as long as itll be driveable in the snow...

Edit: Note that my wife drives the X3 in the winter.

·
Registered
30 Posts
My wife and I have an 09 c-300 4 matic in Calgary. With the factory Continental tires the car launches pretty good when starting off in icy intersections, and if you go easy on the throttle when turning it,s fine but if you step on it you will lose steering. Ice tires would make a big difference. Sport suspension is very stiff when cold out. If the snow is quite deep we park it, for fear of damaging front end body parts due to lowered suspension.

We still have her 92 Honda Accord for such occasions. Also, because everybody complains about snow removal in Calgary, they are back to using salt again,so the Merc. stays in the garage at least until it get's it's first wax job.

·
Registered
150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·