Mercedes-Benz Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I am new to the forum and am looking for specific advice on a 1991 420 SEL for sale near me. It has 122K, and has been garaged since new, has some service records.

Before I drive an hour to go look, are there any things that I should really watch out for? Big things that are a common issue with these cars. I am a good mechanic, have restored several cars, but am smart enough to know that every model has its specific quirks to watch out for. Obviously I will have the car inspected by my MB dealer, but would love to avoid spend the money on a PPI if there is something I can look for that would be an ender....

The car will be a daily driver for me.

Thanks,

Mike

·
Registered
2,043 Posts
122k, garaged since new,and some maintenance records? sounds pretty good. These cars are pretty solid. I'd look in the service records for timing chain work and whenever i buy an older Mercedes i mostly look for cosmetic defects. Perfect paint, interior, and a solid under body usually have me sold.

With any old car i'd expect the small things to go wrong. I've seen a few 420sel's that have needed new rubber door/trunk seals, window switches, vacuum lines. overall great cars.

·
Premium Member
1986 420SEL/1995 E300D/4 BMW’s/2 Vanagon’s
1,026 Posts
Check for moisture under the floor mats.
Check that the idle is around 700 at warm idle. Car should idle smoothly too.
Check that cars goes into forward and reverse with a 1-1.5 seconds of shifter move.
Check Cruise Control.
Even though cars has 122k, make sure odo works and isn't just stopped on 122k.
Make sure Heat and AC work and blow from all vents according to ACC buttons.
Check for moisture in the in the wells of the trunk.
Check for rear window de-lamination and possible rust under the rear window seal.
Check production date of tires.