Mercedes-Benz Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
1989 190E 2.6
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Heya, I'm new to Mbz cars. Just got a 1989 190E 2.6 and I need to know what software, obd1 connectors, etc.. to obtain to scan my car. Is obd1 data usefull as obd2, is it worth investing on a obd1 scanner?

On another note, cylinder #4 from front to back is not working at all. What could be all possible problems? I replaced all spark plugs with new ones.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,

-dex

· BenzWorld W126 & W201 Host
1988 420SE, 2002 C180 Kompressor, 200 ML320
1,150 Posts
Re:No.4 cylinder.

Dexter

If one cylinder is completely down, the problem can usually be identified by process of elimination without the need for scanners.

First, remove the plug and put it to earth with the plug lead (wire) connected to see if there is a spark when the engine is turned over. If there is no spark, the problem is electrical, if there is a spark, the problem is probably fuel related.

If you have the equipment, you could also do a compression check to make sure it's nothing terminal.

· Registered
1989 190E 2.6
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Re: Re:No.4 cylinder.

thanks spanners. I will check that, but I still would like to know what is a good software and connectors for these cars, for future use?

Thanks,

-dex

Dexter

If one cylinder is completely down, the problem can usually be identified by process of elimination without the need for scanners.

First, remove the plug and put it to earth with the plug lead (wire) connected to see if there is a spark when the engine is turned over. If there is no spark, the problem is electrical, if there is a spark, the problem is probably fuel related.

If you have the equipment, you could also do a compression check to make sure it's nothing terminal.

· Registered
1989 190E 2.6
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Re: Re: Re:No.4 cylinder.