Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
300CE-24 -91
116 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I´m thinking of getting me my first V8-mercedes :)
Is there anything in a 350SLC -72 that needs more attencion than the general old car stuff?
How´s the automatic, does it change gears smoothly right after a cold start?

I´ve had W114-115-201 and a S124 in the past, 4-5cyl diesels and 6-cyl gassers, both manual and automatic (5-spd) so I´m not a complete noob with M-B's, I´m just curious if there´s anything model specific to look out for.

·
Always Remembered RIP
1973 450 SLC AMG, 1995 Chevy Tahoe
3,381 Posts
and more Rust.

·
Premium Member
2010 Mercury Milan Hybrid, 1993 BMW 325i convertible
6,077 Posts
And timing chains that haven't been replaced, and neglected "barn finds" that have sat so long the fuel system is filled with varnish that used to be gas, and rubber suspension components that have turned to dust, and rust. Lots and lots of rust.

·
Registered
1978 280slc
3,203 Posts
If you get something that old that hasn't been refurbished your gonna be the one doing it or wishing you had. The only reason my car is on the road is because my dad, the previous owners and I have taken good care of it. Just think about weather stripping around the windows, mine is shot but the car still keeps most of the water out, that's where I'd start. You know what screw that, theres a 450slc being advertised in my paper with 43k miles and the guy is asking 5700 for it. I guess low mileage is also a double edged sward though. Some bendejo was selling a 560sl with under 10k mileage for 35,000$, get out of here.