Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
327 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Forgive my ignorance but I am after (what I call) a new steering rod for my 404. I would also call it a track rod. It's the rod that connects the left and right wheels. It's slung under and slightly behind the front diff.
Please forgive my ignorance as I am a bit of a noob. :surrender:
I'm just checking to see that I'm using the correct name for this part.
Any vendors reading this who are happy to ship to Australia, please send me a pm.
I've seen tie rods advertised but I assume that is a different part.

·
Registered
4,959 Posts
Tie rod!

A drag link connects your pitman arm to your knuckle. A panhard rod is the one that connects your frame to your axle.

·
Registered
3,394 Posts
Yep - tie rod. Other front axle links are as stated above by Chuck "who's beard hides a fist" Norris.

The drag link is so named because the steering box's Pitman arm actually 'drags' this link back and forth on a recirculating ball-type system.

A Panhard rod can also be called a 'track bar or, less accurately, 'track rod' and actually locates the axle side-to-side. So-called because it was invented by the French Panhard Car Co in the dark ages of automobiles :)

·
Registered
859 Posts
You are looking for the tie rod. MB part number 404 330 0103 for the 404 Unimogs. One end is fixed on the rod, the other is removable/adjustable. Most dealers should not have a problem shipping to Australia, however it may be more expensive as I believe it is over the length limits for shipping via USPS. With current exchange I believe it runs in the $300+ range from MB, a good bit less in NOS.

Expedition Imports Corporation Tie Rod - Complete with Ball Joints

Cheers,

Scott

·
Registered
3,394 Posts
Hey - look at that !

They're bent from the factory - normally, I need to bash mine a few times for it to look like that :)

·
Registered
327 Posts
Discussion Starter #11