Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is probably a stupid question. I am fairly new to MB but what is the difference between the Classes (C, E, etc) and the W120 etc... What does the W mean?

·
Premium Member
2001 E320 - Brilliant Silver/Ash: 107,000+
17,193 Posts
It is not stupid, I asked the same thing when I first joined. It goes something like this:

C = compact and/or coupe
E = executive
S = luxury
L = light
K = short

You will see some of the above letters combined as in CLK, SLK, SL and so on.

I've never see the W explained. What I do know is that "wagen" is a german generic word for practically anything having wheels (down to a donkey cart and up to an automobile).

·
Premium Member
2004 CL500 2008 ML320CDI
449 Posts
To complicate matters, the S could mean "super" or "sport" I believe. Further, I think the L could be either "lichte/light" or "lange/long." In the old days E stood for "einspritz/fuel injection," so an SEL was SuperEinspritzLange, because it was the long wheel base model. SL's & CL's certainly aren't "light!" But CLK's & SLK's are "short!" I don't doubt your interpretation of E's & C's, but I'll bet you'd never in a million years get an M-B exec to say they sold a "compact" car. Then throw in the fact that the engine size isn't always accurately reflected by the number next to the letter combination...ach du lieber!!!

·
Registered
11,243 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
So a part that would fit on a W120 would fit on all W120s correct? A body part that is.

·
Premium Member
17,193 Posts
Peteski,

I thought about including a couple of your points when I was replying, and a couple others I didn't know. I was trying to keep it simple and short but you added a lot of useful info to the thread.