Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 4325 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Since we got the W123 thread, I figured I'd make a W124 One. :)

Anyways, I'll start first. I washed it after my W123, took it out for a ride to test the Turbo on route one, I raced an Eclipse (NOT A Fair race, that's the kids fault for challenging me!), Did a 0-60 Test 6 Seconds, Tested top Speed did over 149 MPH (The car is SICK now with the turbo!), It's got 360 HP. :cool:

·
Registered
1,982 Posts
Where were you able to do 149MPH responsibly?
All I did today was drive it without spending repair money (LOL)

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Where were you able to do 149MPH responsibly?
All I did today was drive it without spending repair money (LOL)
Yes, the Turbo cost money, but I did the work myself I'm a mechanic so I'm lucky with labor. ;-). And, to answer your question I did it on Route one with very little traffic.

·
Registered
971 Posts
I got the new lower arm because the joint on my 3-month old one gave up. I'm not going to spend $300x4 every year in arms so I got the old model arm with changeable joint, changed the joint, put in new rubber bushings and tomorrow it goes in.. :)

oh and it got new brake pads today... ATE original ;)

·
Banned
7,361 Posts
I got the old model arm with changeable joint, changed the joint, put in new rubber bushings and tomorrow it goes in.. :)
Glad your not driving around the US.

The lower control arms for all 124.034's have non-replacable ball joints.

Your installing a 300E lower arm which is not meant for your car.
Early 500E's used the 3007/3107 arm but MB went to the 3407/3507 arms later.
You don't have an early 124.036, do you??

For someone who argued about a superceeded EZL on a 500 SEL W140
your really out there on this one, and over saving a few euro's.

Any way back to the topic, tomorrow I'm installing Goodrige braided steel brake lines and ATE blue fluid.

Repacking the front wheel bearing as well.

·