Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
220D
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, to make a long story short, my wife wanted a project car, too. I have my '58 Corvette I've been restoring for the past 5 years. She's always loved Mercedes and hated the fact she had to part with the E-Class she had access to temporarily. We found the following deal on e-Bay and we'll pick it up in about a month. I don't even know what model it is, but it shouldn't be too hard to fix up (ha-ha!) Hopefull y'all can help me out along the ride.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2402925017

... I think it is a 240D?

So, first off, what is it?

·
Registered
1994 SL320, '76 240D
153 Posts
What you have bought there is a fine Mercedes Benz - a 1973 220D Diesel (W114 chassis). Th...

What you have bought there is a fine Mercedes Benz - a 1973 220D Diesel (W114 chassis). They are extremely reliable and not as slow as thier cracked-up to be! A very fun little car - they're light (around 2950lbs), have a great ride and superb handling thanks to wishbone suspension in the front and coil-over shock/spring assemblies in the rear. The engine is a 2.2L 4 cylinder Diesel engine with 60hp and about 90 lbs.ft. of torque.