Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

221 - 240 of 519 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
3 Posts
Last call...

Hi.
I've been to my local dealer today.
They asked the Head Quarters how to program my ML.
The answer was: The switch to COMAND 2,5NTG on a 2006 ML is not supported by Mercedes Benz.
So the dealer said: I won't do anything as I am not able to do anything.
He added: there must be a special mean to achieve this, but it won't be in my shop.
So, do someone have a solution for me to be able to use this COMAND module (wich, I say again, works perfectly execpt that there is no sound on the speakers as the COMAND is programmed for a HK kit, and there is no mean to add the option in the car's computer).
Thank you again.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
42 Posts
Hello

Can anyone advice how to load South East Asia Navigation Map?
Currently i m having NTG2.5 BZ9880 loaded with Euro Map.

I have got the original SE.Asia 2008 Map and has difficulty installing it.

When DVD is loaded, it says "Disc Unreadable"
Then a message pop up says " Map cannot be upgraded, Please contact MB"

Everthing else is working perfectly.

Rob has mentioned before that theres a company specialised in this field. It will be great if ROB can advice/provide the contact details.

THank You
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
265 Posts
Hi.
I've been to my local dealer today.
They asked the Head Quarters how to program my ML.
The answer was: The switch to COMAND 2,5NTG on a 2006 ML is not supported by Mercedes Benz.
So the dealer said: I won't do anything as I am not able to do anything.
He added: there must be a special mean to achieve this, but it won't be in my shop.
So, do someone have a solution for me to be able to use this COMAND module (wich, I say again, works perfectly execpt that there is no sound on the speakers as the COMAND is programmed for a HK kit, and there is no mean to add the option in the car's computer).
Thank you again.
Where are you located ??
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10,427 Posts
MBenzNL should be able to do it, unfortunately you are a bit at the wrong corner of France. It should work if you send the unit for coding, if you don't find anyone willing to do it following one of the previously mentioned options.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
265 Posts
Toulouse, France.
Using stardiagnosis at the coding menu of the COMAND NTG 2.5
a) here must stand > no Soundsystem<
b) second MB Dealer should try to change the position in the white doublefakra connector
and last,
c) MB Dealer should have a look in the >Radio menu< for Signalinput for the aerial (it must stand on FBAS )
Hopefully should work
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
686 Posts
Hello

Can anyone advice how to load South East Asia Navigation Map?
Currently i m having NTG2.5 BZ9880 loaded with Euro Map.

I have got the original SE.Asia 2008 Map and has difficulty installing it.

When DVD is loaded, it says "Disc Unreadable"
Then a message pop up says " Map cannot be upgraded, Please contact MB"

Everthing else is working perfectly.

Rob has mentioned before that theres a company specialised in this field. It will be great if ROB can advice/provide the contact details.

THank You
sorry for not getting back sooner.. its been a busy month...

anyway, the company that is performing map and navi upgrades is called roccosautotech.com ... they will be the ones that will be able to help with things like map changes, etc. also they are great guys.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
686 Posts
Hi.
I've been to my local dealer today.
They asked the Head Quarters how to program my ML.
The answer was: The switch to COMAND 2,5NTG on a 2006 ML is not supported by Mercedes Benz.
So the dealer said: I won't do anything as I am not able to do anything.
He added: there must be a special mean to achieve this, but it won't be in my shop.
So, do someone have a solution for me to be able to use this COMAND module (wich, I say again, works perfectly execpt that there is no sound on the speakers as the COMAND is programmed for a HK kit, and there is no mean to add the option in the car's computer).
Thank you again.
As of right now the two choices are to get access to an SDS machine with developer mode... this will allow you to make the changes directly. alternately you can purchase or rent a programmer to make the coding changes. The dealers arent going to be much help with these NTG2.5 retrofits because its not MB style to tacitly acknowledge that the retorfits can be done in the first place.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Does the new command allow you to have the DVD play with in motion? Ideally I would want to install headrest lcd screens and have the command control the DVD playback.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
42 Posts
Hi guys,

I have finalized my NTG 2.5 upgrade.
I installed the Linguatronic switch, but it was not a simple plug-and-play installation, as it required removal of steering wheel etc.
Anyhow, install the switch and the VR works (requires no coding with SDS).
I also replaced my GPS antenna with original M-B antenna, since I had some problems with the old one (it found only 3 satellites, the MB antenna finds at least 5).
Last thing that I did was replacing the CD-changer bracket with the newer part. I had installed the M-B iPod interface and there was lack of space behind the Comand, since there are now 2 big adapters (CD20 > NTG 2.5 > iPod). The new bracket is much smaller than the older CD-box and now I have plenty of room for the wires and adapters.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
42 Posts
You replacing the CD-changer bracket with the newer part.

What you mean? You added what? A storage ? Do it open now so you can reach the storage? ??

The new bracket is just a simple piece of plastic which holds the console buttons (heated seats, etc). It does not open and there's only wires and the bluetooth antenna behind it. Just like in 2009 cars (w219).
I changed the bracket because there was lack of space behind the unusable CD-changer. It was quite difficult to hide all the big adapters behind it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
265 Posts
The new bracket is just a simple piece of plastic which holds the console buttons (heated seats, etc). It does not open and there's only wires and the bluetooth antenna behind it. Just like in 2009 cars (w219).
I changed the bracket because there was lack of space behind the unusable CD-changer. It was quite difficult to hide all the big adapters behind it.
Hi Polles
Glad you finished it all Hope you enjoy it more and more !!
Rgds
George
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
42 Posts
Hello
I have also completed the NTG2.5 installation.
Everything works well, including the Linguatronic. I have installed the Linguatronic lever module (with auto cruise together) and it works perfectly.

The only last thing i need to do is to activate the backup camera and change the EURO map to SE Asia (Singapore,Malaysia&HK)

So if ROB, POLLES, MBSCA, GMATJ able to help me accomplish the final tast, then it will be great!

I have the oroginal MB Navigation 2008 SE ASIA DVD but it didnt installed.

Cheers
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
42 Posts
Hello
I have also completed the NTG2.5 installation.
Everything works well, including the Linguatronic. I have installed the Linguatronic lever module (with auto cruise together) and it works perfectly.

The only last thing i need to do is to activate the backup camera and change the EURO map to SE Asia (Singapore,Malaysia&HK)

So if ROB, POLLES, MBSCA, GMATJ able to help me accomplish the final tast, then it will be great!

I have the oroginal MB Navigation 2008 SE ASIA DVD but it didnt installed.

Cheers
Hi Rick,

I guess you have followed the WIS SM82.85-P-0005C instructions.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
265 Posts
Hi George,

did get your unit up and running? Do you also have the Linguatronic working?

Regards
No linguatronic yet !! - By the way how much did you get the extra parts for it ?? Also how long does the installation took ??
Rgds
George
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
265 Posts
Hello
I have also completed the NTG2.5 installation.
Everything works well, including the Linguatronic. I have installed the Linguatronic lever module (with auto cruise together) and it works perfectly.

The only last thing i need to do is to activate the backup camera and change the EURO map to SE Asia (Singapore,Malaysia&HK)

So if ROB, POLLES, MBSCA, GMATJ able to help me accomplish the final tast, then it will be great!

I have the oroginal MB Navigation 2008 SE ASIA DVD but it didnt installed.

Cheers
Hi Rick
Congratulations on the install - hope you are enjoying it now !!
I am also looking for an auto activation backup camera solution. There is ofcourse the possibility to plug it on the aux port of the TV Tuner - however it does not come up autoimatically .
I will keep you all posted
Rgds
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
32 Posts
Hi Rick
Congratulations on the install - hope you are enjoying it now !!
I am also looking for an auto activation backup camera solution. There is ofcourse the possibility to plug it on the aux port of the TV Tuner - however it does not come up autoimatically .
I will keep you all posted
Rgds
You need to get into the engineering menu to activate the backup camera option. On my W204 C63 NGT4, I can do that by pressing "phone off" + "#" + "1" but it does not seem to work on the NGT2.5. However, my friend has the 2009 CLS350 with factory NGT2.5 and the 3 button sequence works in getting into the engineering menu. I'm not sure if there is a different 3 button code, but perhaps it needs to be enabled by SDS...
 
221 - 240 of 519 Posts
About this Discussion
518 Replies
74 Participants
alema
Mercedes-Benz Forum
BenzWorld.org forum is one of the largest Mercedes-Benz owner websites offering the most comprehensive collection of Mercedes-Benz information anywhere in the world. The site includes MB Forums, News, Galleries, Publications, Classifieds, Events and much more!
Full Forum Listing
Top