Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I am new to MB ownership and to this forum. I have a 2005 E320 CDi. Last week the car briefly displayed a message about "Battery Protection" and that some functions would be temporarily unavailable. I did not drive or start the car since that message as I did not need to use the car. However, this evening when I started the car, the instrument cluster did not show anything - the fuel and temperature displays showed no bars, no lights came on the dashboard when starting the car or whilst it's started, the speedo and rev counter needles do not move, the central display screen is blank, and finally the headlight switch does nothing when it's turned but the Auto lights are on.

As far as I can tell everything else is working fine - indicators, wipers, comand, heater, electric seats etc.

Any one know what the problem may be? After a very quick google session I am seeing horror stories about replacing the cluster etc. I am hoping it is something simple like a fuse or relay? Or is the battery coming to the end of its life?

If it is the "battery protection", I find it strange that the car has decided to protect the battery by disabling the cluster and not something like the electric seats, radio, heater or something else not quite so critical!!!!!!!!!!

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

·
Purple Moderator
21,708 Posts
I would have both batteries tested ASAP. If they test fine then have the charging system looked at.
It sounds the main battery is dying.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Quick update guys:

I started the car this morning and the cluster is working fine again.

Thanks Noodles for your reply - I will get both batteries checked asap. Apart from the battery in the boot, where is the second battery?

Thanks.

·
Premium Member
11,367 Posts
Main battery (G1) is located in the trunk, under coverrs