Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
858 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was typing this response on another thread and realized that It should be its own thread.

fabbrisd1 (quote below)-
I apologize if my comments were offensive to mercedes fans. And you are right--they should be taken in context. Mostly, they are the impressions of someone fairly new to these cars. But I am not totally ignorant either.

Despite recently spending hundereds of hours very recently shopping for a w210, I have owned a classic porsche (356) and BMW (2002), so I'm not completely new to German cars. I'm also a professor of industrial design, so i do have some training (I know "professor" is a might recall someone i don't want to be associated with). I also was the lead designer on a vehicle project for Mercedes (then Daimlerchrysler) abut ten years ago. I briefly worked for Mercedes--reported to the general manager for Daimler Asia.

Anyway, I think there should be room for different points of view here--and mine, at least for now) is that the w210 is a well designed car, and a lot for the money when bought at today's depreciated values. But some of the issues, such as it's propensity to rust, spring perch failure, shift module etc, are not minor, and are inexcusable for a car that people paid 50-60k for. It's no wonder that a honda or toyota from 2002 with 100k miles in good shape is worth about 1/2 it's original value when an equivalent w210 is is worth around 1/5th--if it's a sought after model like a 4-matic wagon. One can buy a really nice rwd sedan for what, 1/10th of it's original price? I also have al the service records for my car. Nice to have--but shockingly frequent and expensive when compared to a Japanese car.