Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there all- I am a newbie here, and getting ready to purchase a W140.

Couple of questions:

1) I had heard previous to 1995 (1992-1994), the electrical sys was unreliable. It was either a Bosch or AC Delco. In 1995, it could revised, and greatly improved. I was advised by my MB friend to stay away from 1992-1994 W140's becuase of this electrical issue.

Is this true ?

2) In looking at the leather interiors, it seems that there was a change at some point. in the 1997 W140's, the leather appears much softer, and nicer. It is clearly different than the leather in 1992-1995.

Does anyone know what year in the W140's, the leather iinterior changed ?

3) It seems that after 1995, the heated seats feature becomes optional. Many models I have looked at POst 1995, doesn't have front & rear heated seats.

Anyone know what year MB brought back the Heated Front & Rear seats as standard in all S500's ? I have found them back again in 1997. But it seems they were gone in 1996.

And in 1999, they seem gone again. I was shocked by this.

Starting in what year does the W 140 have the following:

1) Reliable Electrical
2) Higher quality leather (softer)--I think it's 1996 or 1997 & after)
3) Heated front & rear seats standard (this feature seems to come & go)

Thank for your help.

·
Registered
1,144 Posts
Read the thread, "older and newer 140s" that's about 5 lines down from this one. That will answer most of your questions. Also, read the sticky thread entitled "*Mercedes Benz S class W140 Series*:UPDATED 31st May 2006!! " You will find some useful info there too. If neither of those answer your questions, use the "search this forum" button on the right side of the page. It works wonders!:D

·
Registered
1,025 Posts
Well that told you Bob! A man tries to help... ;)