Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1999 SL500
122 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All,

Just wondering if you guys would be willing to post pictures of your W124 E class stereo installs. I have been sourcing audio gear for my 1994 E420 and would like to see some pictures for some ideas. I am especially interested in the sub installation as I have read it can be tricky to get the right bass sound into the cabin.

Well, thanks in advance for posting pictures and it would be great to see what people have.

Thanks,

Andy

·
Registered
95 E320 Coupe, 11 E350 4Matic P2
1,082 Posts
I just sold my sub and amp yesterday
because these cars are not meant for heavy base in the trunk due to the gas tank behind the rear seat.

you can go for it but you will need about 2000 watts of pure RMS base to actually feel something.

·
Registered
452 Posts
That's one method, but that's if you want the bass to feel like somebody is punching you in the kidnies when a bass drum hits.

I don't have pics of my install and I'm too lazy to snap some. But if you want bass that will sound tight and balanced, you're only choice is to cut a hole. I cut a 10" hole under my rear first aid kit, and another hole in the first aid kit cover (if you do it carefully and put grills over the holes, it looks pretty good). My sub fires straight up and is flush-mounted to the underside of the rear deck in the trunk. I built a rack under the subwoofer enclosure that's carefully measured so that the box is held in place simply by pressure. It hasn't budged in 8+ months, and sounds great.

Others create ports and vent the bass in elsewhere. Unless you know exactly how long to make the ports, your bass will sound muddy. Furthermore, ported enclosures don't tend to be as punchy. However, they tend to rumble things around a bit more.