Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2002 vito 112 cdi
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Gudday from Australia, this is my first time posting on a forum anywhere so be gentle!

I have a 2002 112 cdi Vito and it's making an unusual sound.

When on the freeway travelling at 90 - 100 km/h under load, it makes a droming noise coming from the engine area. This sounds like an exhaust problem but has been checked by a mechanic and he couldn't find anything :( , and neither could the Mercedes Benz dealers workshop previously :mad: .

Anyone have any ideas to help me, or is there other information I can provide to help with a diagnosis? :confused:

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
108CDI
31 Posts
had similar problem more like a knocking sound at idle with air con on. a high speeds sound like a howling noise . it was a siezed alternator pulley had to replace the lot costly because it has an internal clutch . about $280 to replace from dealer. check also turbo intake hose makes quiet a loud droning noise, but you will notice a slight power lose.
hopes this helps

·
Registered
118 Posts
Does The noise happen in every gear ? Is the noise engine speed related or only vehicle speed related ? If I was to have a guess I would say that the air filter housing mounts are missing or the cover ot on correctly. Have you had it serviced lately ie has someone been near the air filter ?

·
Registered
2002 vito 112 cdi
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
the noise is engine related. at 2250 rpm in second and third gear the droan is slite, but in fourth eg: driving on freeway on level ground slite droan. when you come to a slite hill it becomes louder. no engine power is lost.

·
Registered
108CDI
31 Posts
seems noise is still there , if the noise sounds a little louder at slower speeds .try
driving in a straight line then do a wide turn on open road then do it the other way.