Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,
I badly need some help. My bloers stopped working on 1,2,3 but worked on 4 speed. my boost button stopped working. now my spped 4 has stopped working so i now have no blowers.
It seems that if i wiggle 2 wires that are going to the fan moter i can get speed 4 back but not the others.
any ideas please.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
23 Posts
Exactly what happened to me - In the end I had to get a new blower motor and resistor pack. I'd been making do with only setting 4 and I think the the failing resistor pack damaged the blower.

I would get a used resistor pack (about £25) first and see if that fixes it. It's a simple job as the pack is easily accessable on the passenger side under the dashboard. If that doesn't work replace the fan as well (£80 or £90). This is more involved. The whole job took about 1.5 hours to do but I spent another hour or so mucking about.

If you fancy a bit more to do while you're in there, it's a good idea to take out the pollen filter too, as this blocks up. My heater clears the windscreen now and the aircon works properly.

Try e bay for v class breaker specialist near Leeds or I went to All Parts on t'internet who sent me the wrong stuff but, to their emmence credit replaced it all straight away.

Good luck

James
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
I would get a used resistor pack (about £25) first and see if that fixes it. It's a simple job as the pack is easily accessable on the passenger side under the dashboard. If that doesn't work replace the fan as well (£80 or £90). This is more involved. The whole job took about 1.5 hours to do but I spent another hour or so mucking about.
Had the resistor pack open circuit on speed 1, new delivered this morning (sat) on dealers van for £23 :D

This also had the effect of disabling the Air-con in speeds2-4 because the retro fit Erberspatcher AC kit has the clutch feed wired into the speed 1 circuit, so air con was only available in speed 1 with no fan!!!


ff :cool:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts


This is the end you will see towards you with a 4 wire plug in it. On my RHD 110cdi, pull the trim down above where the passengers feet are and it will be there above their feet, it pushes into one of the heater vent pipes/tubes where the air flow cools the resistor pack.




There are a couple of tiny "catches" that hook onto the edge of the housing to hold it in, you may have to break these off to remove it, but you can stick selftappers in the two tags.

ff
 

·
Registered
RHD 1999 108 CDI
Joined
·
75 Posts
thanks for that. will burrow under the dash on the weekend and have a gander. unfort it's jet black by 5:30pm so I'm in no mood to make like an eel ....
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Vito heater problems

Followed advice on this forum and after removing the pollen filter the difference was amazing but still only had speed 4 .Took the advice and removed the resistor pack but before I tried to get a replacement decided to check continuaty of the circuits and found two CRACKED links between external plug and the resistor pack.Carried out a solder repair and all speeds now o.k. SO BEFORE YOU SPEND OUT ON A NEW PACK CHECK this may be a common fault.Hope this helps sombody.
 

·
Registered
Vito 108cdi 638
Joined
·
5 Posts
My two cents: I have had a problem with the heater blower for some time. Initially a mechanic tied up some cables assuming he adopted a 'if i jiggle the wires, the heater works' methodology. This kept me going for a while and then i would jiggle the wires and it would work -loose connection. Then I noticed that the fuse -f7 - had blown so i replaced that and it would only work on level 4. I then took the pollen filter out - bitch of a job but this did not resolve the problem. Subsequently when i turned the heater on to 4 the fuse would blow immediately. I sent an email to a man who repairs resistors and he said if it is only blowing on 4 then it is not using the resistor and that whilst there is a problem with the resistor that has probably been caused by something else - the motor itself probably if the fuses are blowing. I bought a new motor as I am in Northern Sweden and need to get this fixed. I took out the existing motor which is a bit of a fiddly job. You need a short screwdriver and strong fingers and to release one of the cable looms. When i got the motor out i noticed burning deposits in the plug and socket and then realised that the live and earth wires insulation had worn and they were touching each other - hence fuses blowing. I put some tape round the wires, cleaned the plugs - although i think i should replace - replaced the fuse and plugged in my old and new blower motors. Both working great, which is a bit of a bummer as the old one seems fine. The blower is still only working on 4 as i assume that i will now need to replace or fix the resistor.

I hope this helps someone.
 

·
Registered
Vito 114 tourer 2015: Vito 108d 97: 108d 98: Traveliner 2003 ; Aixam; z1100; xbr500; z440 ++++
Joined
·
2,390 Posts
you can take the fan motor out, easily, its 3 screws and visible if you pull the left hand vent (next to the door) out... grip by top and bottom edge NOT the vents themselves.

the control resistor block is a multipole plug and set of resistors INSIDE the air "pipe" that goes from the fan to the central console

beside the main unit, under the central console, are the actuator solenoids for air control.

at the back of the central console, next to the engine bulkhead, is the pollen filter... you can see it from the left hand (RHD) models.... it has a lattice patterned cover on the bottom edge with a "handle" bit on the left hand edge........... as said easy to see and get to but ONLY on low-spec vans..... on dualiners, v class, ambiente and traveliner there is a console unit that goes from the control console to the floor PLUS the floor covering comes upwards forming a "box" from the floor to the console..... it needs to be detached from the bolts at the top edge of the flooring and folded over to the front edge of the seat (or removed altogether) to expose the pollen filter housing (the flooring hides it)

if its a suspected resistor problem, send it to the guy in hull who will fix it by return of post, quite cheaply.

if the fan is connected to 12v directly (DON'T leave it connected or it will burn out) and it doesn't work.... go to ebay for a replacement... ALL 638 fans and resistors are the same... the controllers AREN'T.

The Resistor Blocks tend to overheat and burn out resistors or the thermal fuse.... BUT when airflow reduces.... ALWAYS REPLACE the pollen filter.... moisture increases and the internal connectors on the resistors rust... clean them and resolder..... this is what normally causes intermittent operation.

NOTE later models have a drain tube from the Air Pipe down and through the floor... NOT on early models.... it can cause water in the left hand footwell

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Fans do not often burn out..... resistor packs go frequently... especially with a dirty pollen filter
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

·
Registered
Vito 115cdi 2005
Joined
·
100 Posts
Does anybody know where the resistor pack is located on the 639 models? My fan also stopped working on the lower speeds so suspecting resistor pack fault but I would prefer to know where to look before I rip the whole dash apart.
 

·
Premium Member
2008 vito 115 CDI dualiner
Joined
·
435 Posts
Hi , The resistor pack is located under the cubby hole cover or dash tray in the middle of the dash just below the windscreen. I only know this as we replaced it when my heating was upgraded with help from Zenman to thermotronic. I still have my old one kicking arond somewhere which was working fine until we removed it , so if you want it PM me and its yours for a reasonable amount.

Nick
 

·
Registered
Vito 115cdi 2005
Joined
·
100 Posts
Thank you very much, that is probably the last place I would have looked. Anyhow, I removed it and inside under the resistors is a thermal fuse which has gone open circuit. I got a replacement from our local electronics shop, cut out the old one and soldered the new one in it's place and all is well again. I have no idea why the thermal fuse blew in the first place but will keep an eye on it, if it goes again there is obviously something else wrong.
 

·
Registered
Vito 114 tourer 2015: Vito 108d 97: 108d 98: Traveliner 2003 ; Aixam; z1100; xbr500; z440 ++++
Joined
·
2,390 Posts
the thermal fuse CAN just bow for no reason... but its far from common.

the main (90%+) reason is restricted airflow through the ventilation system.

this can be external blockages or jammed solenoid operators in the heat system but in ALMOST all cases it has something to do with the pollen filter.

in a 638 it is inside the vehicle, hard against the interior bulkhead under the central controls...... it is difficult to get at, especially in high end models and this is why its rarely changed (although paid for as part of a major service)

BUT in a 639 there is no such excuse.... its on the bulkhead under the windscreen, under the bonnet......... its easy to get to...... only problem is from mb they are costly.

normal reason for failure is damp causing the filter to become blocked.
 

·
Registered
Vito 110 CDi '99
Joined
·
49 Posts
I think my pollen filter is knackered, for some reason the resistor pack had been completely removed so I bought a new one put it in and still no joy, so guess it's narrowed down now to either the actual blower or the filter.

My money's on the blower though as i get no movement whatsoever, surely even with a severly blocked filter the fan would atleast try to move?
 

·
Registered
Vito 114 tourer 2015: Vito 108d 97: 108d 98: Traveliner 2003 ; Aixam; z1100; xbr500; z440 ++++
Joined
·
2,390 Posts
before you do ANYTHING..... from what you say, CHANGE THE FILTER

remove the heat outlet cover thats under the ashtray (one nut on each side)....if you look from the left front door... to the bulkhead below the central control panel... you will see the filter housing.....

the housing is the bottom bit against the bulkhead..... it has a "waffle" pattern on the bottom with a "hooked" handle underneath..... the handle is pulled to the left and down.... the filter is "hinged" in the middle to make it easier.

you will see a "cable tied" bunch of cables in front of the housing.... cut the ties off.... there is also a "tube" across the filter housing held on with a 13mm headed bolt in each end

ALL the instructions tell you to cut the cable ties and remove the "tube" to access the filter housing.... however it can sometimes be done simply with cutting the ties and pulling the wires up.

if you have a V model or ambiente or rear heating ducts (I have on a 110cdi) the floor covering has to be pulled up in the left hand footwell (attached with discs along its top) and folded towards the drivers seat..... there is a raised bit around the heater outlet that hides the filter as described above.

a filter for a 638 (all the same) is just under £30 from mb
 

·
Registered
Vito 110 CDi '99
Joined
·
49 Posts
extremely helpful Malcolm thanks very much :D:D:D

I'll give that a go tomorrow before shipping it off to the garage! - One less thing to pay for haha
 

·
Registered
Vito 114 tourer 2015: Vito 108d 97: 108d 98: Traveliner 2003 ; Aixam; z1100; xbr500; z440 ++++
Joined
·
2,390 Posts
the poblem is that most people (I hold my own hand up in shame for not thinking) replace the obviously faulty part and then try again......

the result is that the expensive new part goes the same way as the old one.... phuttt.

the cause is normally lack of airflow, causing overheating and phutt

the first priority must be to get sufficient airflow.... i.e. a new filter

the damp "blockage" is also caused by poor airflow.... a damp filter doesn't let air through it.... there is always damp in the system and it is controlled by the airflow drying it out...

out of interest, the thermal fuse is 210 degrees.
 

·
Registered
Vito 110 CDi '99
Joined
·
49 Posts
before you do ANYTHING..... from what you say, CHANGE THE FILTER

remove the heat outlet cover thats under the ashtray (one nut on each side)....if you look from the left front door... to the bulkhead below the central control panel... you will see the filter housing.....

the housing is the bottom bit against the bulkhead..... it has a "waffle" pattern on the bottom with a "hooked" handle underneath..... the handle is pulled to the left and down.... the filter is "hinged" in the middle to make it easier.

you will see a "cable tied" bunch of cables in front of the housing.... cut the ties off.... there is also a "tube" across the filter housing held on with a 13mm headed bolt in each end

ALL the instructions tell you to cut the cable ties and remove the "tube" to access the filter housing.... however it can sometimes be done simply with cutting the ties and pulling the wires up.

if you have a V model or ambiente or rear heating ducts (I have on a 110cdi) the floor covering has to be pulled up in the left hand footwell (attached with discs along its top) and folded towards the drivers seat..... there is a raised bit around the heater outlet that hides the filter as described above.

a filter for a 638 (all the same) is just under £30 from mb
Succesfully got in a brand new pollen filter (already had one), was considerably easier than I expected, just a little awkward to get to lol.

The blower still doesn't work though (on any setting), and if i connect the blower directly to the battery it doesn't spin.

Fuses are all defo fine, as is the resistor, does this only leave the blower at possible fault?

PS. You need a medal for your contributions to this forum :bowdown:
 
1 - 20 of 28 Posts
Top