Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
1985 500sel and 500sec 2012 E63 1989 Porsche 911
5,241 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
best buy has a couple models price ranging from 370-500, and 100 for iinstall,

anyone have experience with these, is there any special instructins i need to tell them

·
Registered
Gertrûd - 1988 300SE
194 Posts
As a former installer myself, I would NEVER go to Best Buy or any other large retail chain that isn't totally dedicated to car audio and accessories. The product of course is the same, but the quality of their installers...well, I spent about 12 hours doing a COMPLETE re-install in my friend's R-32. He had the Euro-spec nav unit installed and a small amp for a sub. A pretty basic install in all honesty, but they managed to screw it up. I'm getting off topic here, but I'd go elsewhere for the install. The only thing to make sure they do is the 3second lock/unlock pulse. If I was at home (i'm @ work) I could upload the wiring diagram, which is very similar to a 5-wire system. We have vacuum locks, and the vacuum pump is activated by a 3 second pulse coming from the unit. These wires are in one of the harnesses behind the drivers side kick panel. Also, make sure they do the factory alarm arm/disarm. If it's done correctly, you can use any combination of key or remote to lock and unlock, and at the same time arm and disarm respectively. Other than that, our cars are super easy. A full install should take about 2 hours, start to finish.

·
Registered
5,241 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks, ill look into a different installer. they we charging 150 for the alarm/remote start install, and then more for options, but i dont think i will get m y windows done, thats just something else that will break, and with the trunk, seems pointless too cuz we dont have shocks to lift it anyways.

can u email or post that wiring diagram when u can.