Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Tagging @Dave2302 for his brilliance.

So this hasn’t happened to me, but I know some people who’s conductor plates, and therefore valve bodies on 7 speed automatics have recently kicked the bucket. Dealer prices are 4-5k for replacement.

Is there anyway that one can make this repair themselves using STAR diagnostics? Can one load the info off of the old module and load it onto the new one?

Im just asking for my own education :)
 

·
W220 Moderator
Joined
·
6,150 Posts
Hi,

I believe, (but it's been a long while), you can copy the SCN Number and then paste it into a brand new control unit, provided the old TCU / Conductor Plate will still communicate ;)

However a used unit unit must be virginised by a specialist and then you would likely use "Initial Start Up" and be able to enter VIN etc to marry it to the DAS ..............

@Deplore will know more about this on a bad day than I do ;)

When I had the Trans Firm years ago we didn't have SDS so we used to get a guy in to do them, and whilst I was always watching what he did it was a long while ago ;)

HTH,
 

·
Outstanding Contributor , SDS Guru
1998 MB E300TD, 1997 MB E36 AMG, 2001 MB E55 AMG
Joined
·
3,515 Posts
Yes, you'll need to virginize the conductor plate so you can marry it with das.

And no, you can't virginize with xentry, you'll need outside tools for that.

Transferring scn coding is possible.... Only if the old and new plate have the same software revision. If old plate is vgs2 and new plate is vgs3, you'll need online scn coding, because it changes. Old one is not applicable.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks guys!
So if I ordered a new unit from Mercedes, I would need to do SCN online coding to get it to work?
 

·
Outstanding Contributor , SDS Guru
1998 MB E300TD, 1997 MB E36 AMG, 2001 MB E55 AMG
Joined
·
3,515 Posts
Yes you do....New plate is blank and would need programming and SCN coding.

But I'll be surprised if MB would just let you buy it from the parts department. 722.9 plate are TRP (theft relevant parts) and require you to have a locksmith license to order.

Otherwise you have to drop off car at the dealer and have them do it.
 

·
Outstanding Contributor , SDS Guru
1998 MB E300TD, 1997 MB E36 AMG, 2001 MB E55 AMG
Joined
·
3,515 Posts
Easy, if the transmission does not recognize the car, it just won't shift. I mean that, it won't shift. Depends on the car, but some cars you won't even get limp mode, it'll just rev in neutral.

Some cars don't have a steering lock, so the transmission becomes part of immobilizer. 220, 215, 218, 219 don't have steering lock, for instance. So shifter and TCM becomes antitheft.

Lots of headache, but it means that it's very difficult to steal the car. Try that in a Ford, Chevy or Honda, gone in 30 seconds (literally).
 

·
W220 Moderator
Joined
·
6,150 Posts
Yes, you'll need to virginize the conductor plate so you can marry it with das.

And no, you can't virginize with xentry, you'll need outside tools for that.

Transferring scn coding is possible.... Only if the old and new plate have the same software revision. If old plate is vgs2 and new plate is vgs3, you'll need online scn coding, because it changes. Old one is not applicable.
Thanks for confirming that my Brain is still in good working order then, that is exactly how I remembered it back in the day ;)
 

·
Registered
2002 SLK 32 AMG, 2000 S 430, 2003 ML270 CDI
Joined
·
290 Posts
Boy am I glad to have only 5 speed trannys in my cars. The 722.6 conductor plate is dummy, and can be swapped out without STAR intervention...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
I wish I had the 5 speed! I’m so nervous about that damn valve body. Last I checked Park Place charged about 5k for the job.
 

·
W220 Moderator
Joined
·
6,150 Posts
We did this to death a few posts up ;)

The job is not really any different !!

£ / $ 5000 is an absolute rip off, there are loads of Auto Trans Parts Suppliers that will supply one pre programmed for your Car these days if you don't have 3rd party Server Access to Database for your SDS, which of course if a DIY owner is even thinking about working efficiently on his W220 he should have bought that SDS long ago 😈 .

If you do have SDS and server access you can save a small amount by buying a Virgin assembly and doing "Initial Start Up" on it :)

If you can still communicate with your old one, you can copy it's SCN and reprogram a Virgin ;)

More than one way to skin a Bear without Stealership involvement !!

HTH,
 

·
Registered
2000 S430, 2003 S430, 2000 S500, 2003 S600 TT, and 2005 E320 CDI
Joined
·
4,558 Posts
It makes me wonder how in the world that became a theft related part.
Because the Daimler execs decided to do yet more to force people to go to the stealerships. Remember, they get a cut of everything. There is no good reason to make the conductor plate into a theft-relevant part.

I wish I had the 5 speed! I’m so nervous about that damn valve body. Last I checked Park Place charged about 5k for the job.
And that, fellow Benz owner, is why all of my cars have the 5-speed and why I avoid the 7-speed like the Plague! Yes, Dave's correct in his above statements, and I 100% agree with the SDS purchase suggestion (I have one as well--it's save me far beyond $50,000 in the last almost-four years). Anyone who buys a Mercedes-Benz with any computers in it really should get an SDS setup.

That said, the SCN coding nonsense is yet another "force you back to the mothership" stunt by Daimler, to the point that someone sued Daimler AG in the EU about it and won. My understanding is that Daimler now have to make those SCN codes available freely for EU residents. But they had no business doing that crap in the FIRST DOGGONE PLACE.
 
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
Top