Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
CLK 320 CDI w209
Joined
·
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All,

As some are already aware here, my car has gone down since July.
The TCU has burnt at 500km of my home during holidays !

I bought a new valve body/TCM (VGS2) in order to replace the old one (VGS1)

As you can see, valve body are pretty similar and I saw only one difference :

attachThumb53877

No difference on upper side.

I made some cleaning and changed one valve :

attachThumb53878 attachThumb53879 attachThumb53880

I also changed one solenoid.

Unfortanetly, when I refited the whole my benz refused to move.

I used DAS and no error code.

So i remove one time again the valve body and check again but I found nothing.

I will retry tomorrow with other solenoids...

Do you have any idea ?
2610709
 

·
Coupe/Convertible Forums Moderator
CURRENT: 2011 SL550, 2011 C300 FORMER: ML350, CLK550 Cabriolet, C240, ML320, 300TD
Joined
·
19,025 Posts
So you replaced both the valve body and conductor plate? Was this a used unit? If so, that won't work. The conductor plate contains the TCU. The TCU for the 722.9 is integrated into the anti-theft system and requires SCN coding (basically writing the VIN to its EEPROM). SDS will only allow SCN coding once on a new, "virgin" part. There are ways to send your conductor plate/TCU off and have it erased, but then you'd have to find someone to SCN code it for you with a "live" version of SDS.
 

·
Registered
CLK 320 CDI w209
Joined
·
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for your answer.

Is a long story ! I bought both TCM & valve body, for sure ;)

The new one is well coded but when i fitted it one soledoid was in error. So I dissassemble the whole, changed one solenoid and one sprig into the valve body.

But unforntatnetly, for now, the car is not moving. I checked again today and everythig is ok, valve body and solenoid...
 

·
Coupe/Convertible Forums Moderator
CURRENT: 2011 SL550, 2011 C300 FORMER: ML350, CLK550 Cabriolet, C240, ML320, 300TD
Joined
·
19,025 Posts
You will need to pulls codes from the TCU.
 

·
Registered
CLK 320 CDI w209
Joined
·
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks for you answer.

Without the TCM pluged to the harness, car can move, so the root cause is electronical.
Still no error from MB Star and the new TCM is well coded, I made a range sensor calibration.

But it still missing something....
 

·
Coupe/Convertible Forums Moderator
CURRENT: 2011 SL550, 2011 C300 FORMER: ML350, CLK550 Cabriolet, C240, ML320, 300TD
Joined
·
19,025 Posts
Wait - is the is a 5-speed 722.6 or 7-speed 722.9 transmission?
 

·
Coupe/Convertible Forums Moderator
CURRENT: 2011 SL550, 2011 C300 FORMER: ML350, CLK550 Cabriolet, C240, ML320, 300TD
Joined
·
19,025 Posts
Just thinking out loud...could it be an issue with the gear selector? That is. inside the transmission on the conductor plate - not the gearshift itself.
 

·
Registered
CLK 320 CDI w209
Joined
·
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Hello all,

Offline programming was done but no progress.

Or almost ! I think I have find the root cause, it should be scn coding I got an 513 error.

Now any help is welcome I have to reste scn but i do not have abrites it seems that it can be done via xentry and Dev mod. After that I will do a online coding.

Keep you in touch
 
1 - 10 of 10 Posts
Top