Mercedes-Benz Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,<br><br>
<br><br>
I am new to this news group and I just bought a 99 CLK 430. It did not have xenons from the factory so I purchased them aftermarket and have installed them. They work fine but I notice that in the middle there is what looks to be a motor and connector that I don't have harness for. Can someone with xenons check and see if there is a connector going to the middle back of the headlight housing? It is almost dead center of the whole assembly. <br><br>
<br><br>
thanks,<br><br>
<br><br>
Jeff

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I'm doing the same - the motor and connector you noticed is the auto leveling actuator. I suspect power to this connector should be able to be spliced from the main headlamp housing connector?<br> How'd you remove the retention pins in the wheel arches?

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Re: Re: upgrading to Xenons

Tan,<br> <br> There are two bolts on each side of the bumper and it drops down. You don't need to take it all the way off just out and down a couple of inches. The first bolt is in the wheel well about where the bumper meets it going straight up. The other is accessed by pulling the side marker lamp housing out slightly and it is facing up. Once you release those two on each side you can pull the bumper out and down. The side bolt for the headlight assembly you access with a 8mm socket from the bottom of the car through the fog light panel that comes off. Let me know if you need more explanation.<br> <br> Where did you get your xenon's from? I noticed on Hella's website they have a self-leveling sensor kit for the E-Class Xenon upgrade kit but don't know if it will work with a CLK. I also don't know where to purchase this kit in the US.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Re: Re: Re: upgrading to Xenons