Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, I am creating this post in hopes that I can receive some advice on what my options are in terms of selling my car. First, a quick back story:

I am the second owner of this Mercedes-Benz 1997 C230, since 2005. It has been a great vehicle to me over the years, however it is time that I let her go serve another purpose. What will that purpose be? I am not going to wager it would be sold to another driver. Perhaps as parts? This is why I am here, to ask all of you. Amazingly, the car still drives! There has been work done to it over the years, but no major engine swaps or otherwise major work in that fashion.

However, there is very recently a coolant leak occurring somewhere near the engine it seems. I am not a mechanic, but I am technical minded; I tried to investigate where the leak is occurring by renting a coolant leak detector (with the pump that attaches to the liquid spout). It is very difficult for me to see without having a place to raise my car up, and without knowledge of if it is coming from within the engine, or outside of it. Either way, there is an obvious leak, with pressure added to the system, it is more of a stream than a drip, and it seems to be dripping down from near the engine, at least. I've taken photos and video with my go-pro, I'm happy to share those if anyone would like to see.

Anyway, I already have another car to replace the C230, and so it is just sitting in my garage while my new car is sitting under the hot sun in the driveway. I would like to sell this Benz for what it is worth to whoever would like to buy it. I considered selling it to a dealership via KBB, however I didn't get any call backs from posting it. I thought perhaps this forum would be a good place to consider alternatives, whether that be advice on where else I should post it for sale, or, perhaps somewhere here would like to buy it?

Mileage: ~185,000