Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
96 G320
106 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am just getting started on running SVO in my 1985 300GD. I bought the car from Europa and began right away running bio. My daughter's car is a 1984 280 GE with a transplanted BMW 534 diesel engine. We have been running her car for 9 months on bio and have had no issues at all. After my first tank of bio in my 85 it cleaned out 20 years of diesel depoists and I had to replace both fuel filters. I did fair amount of research and found a guy named Chris Goodwin here in Seattle who has figured out a fantastic two tank system.He calls his shop FRYBIRD and really doing great things on his site. My original tank runs diesel/bio and my new tank that he installed where the jump seat usually is runs SVO/WVO. I have not yet got the WVO going but I plan to get it together by summer. For now I am running SVO bought at a local food warehouse store. I plan on picking up some WVO Friday. Take a look at Chris' site for the diagram
http://www.frybrid.com/forum/showthread.php?t=567
and this site for photos of the install.
http://www.frybrid.com/forum/showthread.php?t=602
It gives me great pride to show Chris's work as it is top notch.

·
Registered
1980 250GD Cabrio
227 Posts
Hoew long were you running bio and in what concentrations? I am curious about whether 100% bio will lead to injection pump failure.

On another note, has anyone ever used the induction of propane in their engines? This guy in NJ (www.welshtec.com) seems to be offering a good product but I can't find any one that has tried it.

·
Registered
1985 300GD LWB 5 Speed
1,079 Posts
CEOG,