Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im new to benzworld,lots of great info.Thanks in advance.I have a 1994 e320 and have been having turn signal problems.Seems they work when they want to work.For example they will work then all the sudden stop,may start back shortly are may not work until tomorrow r the next day.This has been going on for sometime now,but they always start back.It seems now they are staying off for longer periods at a time.Also for a added note when they stop my emergency flasher stop working.They have worked for as long as 6 months at a time,but lately been stopping a lot more often.Thanks for any help.

·
Registered
1996 S124 E220 - 1985 VW T3 1.9DG Camper - 1998 BMW E36 328i Cabriolet
662 Posts
Diagnosis for failed signal lights

Hello and welcome to you and your 320.

As you are reporting inoperative hazard lights when the indicators fail, it seems most probable that you have a bad relay rather than a problem with the control stalk or any specific wiring.

It's called the N10 relay and it controls the wipers, indicators, hazards & maybe a few other functions - some or all of these can be affected by a relay fault. You'll find it located in the fuse box - look for a black box a little smaller than a cigarette packet towards the back.

First off, remove it and check for visible damage like broken connectors / contacts. If it looks ok, try spraying it and the socket with contact cleaner and replacing firmly. If the flashers fail again, pull over immediately and try wiggling the relay in it's mount... if you can find a position in which the flashers work again by doing that, simply wedge it to keep it in that position with a piece of folded card or whatever and it will probably cure the problem for a while.