Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I have recently changed the engine on my E320 1998 and in 2 months time the transmission failed, or so says the workshop: It doesn't shift from the 1st gear. It works for a few minutes then just nothing happens when put on D or R or any other gear. Before that I remember it had a weird behavior sometimes when shifting from 1 to 2 (the RPM jumps a bit before it shifts) and I have changed a speed sensor for it a while ago.

Now the guy at the workshop says since it stops working in a few minutes you just need a rebuild. Then "we'll see" about the TCM. He also did something that made me suspicious, he said on the phone I removed the tranny and checked it but when I visited the workshop without him knowing my car was outside, and when I asked about that he said he moved it. I'm no expert so is it possible to remove the transmission without removing the exhaust and supporting the engine? and can that happen without the car being lifted?

·
Registered
31,633 Posts
Unless you misunderstood him, he's a liar and/or an idiot.

The TCM is in the electrical "box" under the hood. Indeed, even if you change the transmission you will still have problems until the trans codes are cleared from the TCM. And removing the transmission has nothing to do with the TCM.

Go retrieve your car and take it to someone who knows what they are doing.

And read through the 722.6xx FAQ thread so you gain an understanding of your transmission and what's going on.

Good luck.

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for your response. The TCM is one thing, he probably meant that this is a mechanical failure and after rebuilding he will get to clear codes and so on.

But is it true that jumping out of gear to neutral along with staying in the first gear is an indicator for a tranny failure?

Unless you misunderstood him, he's a liar and/or an idiot.