Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1995 E320 Wagon, 2006 BMW 330i
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello:

I'm a newbie, with a question about our new-to-us 1995 E320 Wagon with 116,000 miles.

My wife and I have each noticed that starting on a upgrade when in drive demands fancy footwork, or the car will roll backwards pretty dramatically--not unlike a car with a manual transmission in neutral.

It's my assumption that Mercedes autos work like everyone else's, and are designed to hold the car in place, more or less, in situations like this. If that's the case, what is the issue that we're looking at, and how much is it going to cost us? Is a catastrophic failure likely in the future?

For what it's worth, the car had its transmission rebuilt about 65,000 miles ago. We're not seeing any other issues with the transmission or driveability generally; it shifts super smoothly and quietly.

Thanks for any help!

Kris Hicks-Green

·
Registered
1,749 Posts
It's not 'designed' this way, it's merely the way automatics work.

The "clutch" in an automagic transmission is a fluid coupling between the engine's crankshaft and the transmission's input shaft. This is a torque converter, and works similar to if you put two fans facing each other...turn one on 'low', you'll find the other doesn't move, and if it does, not much. This is idle and why some cars have more creep than others. Turn one fan to 'high', leave the other off, and you'll find the one without power moves faster. It's this concept, but with lightweight oil (transmission fluid).

I've always found it quite pleasant Mercedes cars can run at a low enough idle speed, smoothly, to not require the brakes be applied while at a stop. My wife's, then GF, '81 W123 diesel didn't need brakes applied on perfectly flat ground. It just didn't creep.

Wait...'fancy footwork' with a two-pedal car? Because of a hill in Austin?! If need be, at steep intersections, left-foot brake before you go to pull away.