Mercedes-Benz Forum banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
1998 Mercedes Ml320
199 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to Mercedes cars.. And to this forum. I own a 98 ml320 and I've recently been having a couple issues with the transmission and can't read the transmission codes with my cheap scan tool... I know I need to change fluid filter and the round connector is leaking a little but I need to see if there are any codes stored.. My issue is that I'm not sure the converter is locking up.. Seems like rpms at 70 should be lower than 2800-3000.. My main question here is what can read the transmission? I know star or carsoft can but I'm really looking for software that I can use on my laptop and just a obd2 cable.. Not the multiplexer or whatever it is. I'm cheap I know. I have software for bmw and audi/vw but not Mercedes.. Anyone know of anything or have anything I can use for this? Thanks

·
Registered
Dallas, Texas
12,204 Posts
Just a side note. If transmission has hard fault set engine control module will have P0715 code as well. It is a prompt to scan ETC for codes.

·
Registered
1998 Mercedes Ml320
199 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Not much to be honest.. I don't normally pay for them I usually have them on my pc and use the cable I have but idk which one to use that will read all Mercedes modules besides star... No p0715 code either

·
Super Moderator
99 ML430, 00 ML320, 05 E500 4matic Wagon
23,346 Posts
You will also need a multiplexer and the Chinese clones are not that expensive, but getting Xentry/DAS installed is can be a PITA and it is on at least 3-4 dual layer DVDs.

Something like the Autel MD802 or iCarsoft 980 can access the trans, ETC and clear codes from both. They are around $200 or less.

Also our ML320 is spinning 2800-3000 rpm at 70-75mph so I am guessing the torque convertor is fine. BUT, yes do the fluid change and the leaky connector.
Only use approved fluid and a genuine MB or MOPAR connector. The aftermarket ones leak.

·