Mercedes-Benz Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Registered
08 ml320 cdi,slk 230,01 boxster S,04carrera911,67 GT350mustang,02G500L,96 s600 w140, w210 e55t 2001
Joined
·
1,712 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I had to change new set of tires for my 08 ml320 cdi due to front right wheel damage. Now after installing new set they forgot to transfer the tpms sensors located inside the wheel. Few questions. 1. Can this tpms sensors be interchange from any wheel? And how do get a new one wih the right id of the sensor if ever? I can see the sensors having different sets of id. Although they are all 433mhz. My ride now has that warning that says inoperative due to no sensors found. Thanks
 

· Registered
Current ? (Thinking GLC SUV) Previous 1998 E320, 2007 E320 Bluetec, 2008 320ML CDI
Joined
·
2,544 Posts
You can buy a single sensor. Installing it requires the tire bead to be broken on the valve stem side only. The old stem would removed and new sensor installed and tire re-inflated.
This way any balancing that was performed should not be lost.
The sensor will be initialized by driving at a steady speed for a couple of miles. The owner manual has a section on this.
Can you retrieve the old sensor?
Skippy
 

· Registered
08 ml320 cdi,slk 230,01 boxster S,04carrera911,67 GT350mustang,02G500L,96 s600 w140, w210 e55t 2001
Joined
·
1,712 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I only have 3 out of 4. The damage wheel had to be surrendered to the insurance. My question is can this be interchangable to all wheels. ? And do i need a specific id for the part that i lost? (Damage wheel).
 

· Registered
Current ? (Thinking GLC SUV) Previous 1998 E320, 2007 E320 Bluetec, 2008 320ML CDI
Joined
·
2,544 Posts
As far as I know the sensors can go on any wheel. They are not coded to a specific location, at least in 2008.
You need to get the correct sensor for your system. I believe you know it to be 433 Mz.
The other choice is 315 Mz.
Pricey units as I bought four to replace mine.
Maybe you could add that cost to your damage claim.
Skippy
 

· Super Moderator
02 ML500, 00 ML320, 05 E500 4M Wagon, 99 ML430
Joined
·
23,713 Posts
It is a Siemens Dill 1054. On the net you can find them for about $70 apiece.
A lot of sellers just list them as Dill 1054. Make sure to get the real deal and not an OEM clone.

I also for got to mention that the shop that did the work or the insurance company should be
covering this. They screwed up by forgetting to transfer the sensor to the new wheel.
 

· Registered
08 ml320 cdi,slk 230,01 boxster S,04carrera911,67 GT350mustang,02G500L,96 s600 w140, w210 e55t 2001
Joined
·
1,712 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks for all the info. So i can just buy 1 pc and any id will work as long as its same brand oem ? Am i right? And would you know what will happen if i only install 3 out of 4 fist while waiting for the new sensor? Would it work partially? Thanks
 

· Registered
08 ml320 cdi,slk 230,01 boxster S,04carrera911,67 GT350mustang,02G500L,96 s600 w140, w210 e55t 2001
Joined
·
1,712 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Another question... will the tpms work on just 3 sensors? while i wait for the new one i will install the 3. or will this give me the same malfunction ? inoperative.
 

· Registered
1989 560 SEC,1991 300 SEL, 1985 380 SL-Sold, 1982 300 Turbo Diesel-Parts Car
Joined
·
164 Posts
As was said by Noodles "The shop that did the work or the insurance company should be
covering this. They screwed up by forgetting to transfer the sensor to the new wheel."
 

· Super Moderator
02 ML500, 00 ML320, 05 E500 4M Wagon, 99 ML430
Joined
·
23,713 Posts
Thanks for all the info. So i can just buy 1 pc and any id will work as long as its same brand oem ? Am i right? And would you know what will happen if i only install 3 out of 4 fist while waiting for the new sensor? Would it work partially? Thanks
I honestly do not know with a 2008 W164. In my 2005 W211 if the battery dies inside one sensor the other 3 continue to function. I just get a warning that the TPMS on a certain corner of the car is inactive.

Please consider going to the shop and your claims adjuster and getting them to pick up the tab on this. You did not do anything wrong. If they refuse to help I would call my agent and consider a new insurance company. Think of how much money you have given them in premiums. The least they can do when a claim is made is follow through and make sure the repair is done correctly.

Also if you did not get new wheels that is TPMS sensor compliant then you will not be able to use them at all. I was under the impression you only replaced one wheel an all four tires so you should be fine having the sensors mounted. These companies that sell them ship them quicly so I would wait to have all four done at once.
 

· Registered
08 ml320 cdi,slk 230,01 boxster S,04carrera911,67 GT350mustang,02G500L,96 s600 w140, w210 e55t 2001
Joined
·
1,712 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
HI guys, appreciate the replies. all of your suggestions will not work in this side of the world. insurance here in the Philippines are not the same in the U.S. that is why im taking care of the circus they made. i already installed the 3 sensors just now. In my understanding i will need to run the vehicle a couple of miles to initialize the system am i correct? as of now im still getting the flash and steady orange light still.
 
1 - 10 of 10 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top