Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey guys

i'm a noob out here lookin for advice. It maybe a stupid question to ask a bunch of mercedes enthusiasts but here we go...
i live on vancouver island, british columbia, canada and just found a 85 190E 2.3 5 speed (only 5 speed 190 i can find in bc)for about 1000 bucks in pretty good condition well maintained and running smooth (clear coat is screwwed on parts of the hood but thats it) and i am wondering if its worth it. I mean is buying an 85 gonna cost me in the long run because its soo old?. I really want a 190 and this is the only one i can find in my area and advice would be appreciated.
thanks guys

·
Registered
1988 W201 190E
39 Posts
When I went looking for MB's a few weeks back I specifically was looking at the W124's and W126's I really wasn't terribly interested in the W201's at all because mainly of experiences with the locally imported 180E's. Mostly I found them under powered and uninspiring, but during the course of my searches I looked at several 190 imports. I don't think I even took any W201's for a test drive, including the one I bought. Though when I saw it I pretty well knew this would be the car I'd be driving back to Ballina with.
The main issues will be from what I've seen on any of the MB's of this vintage are, Bushing in the upper and lower front control arms, bushings in the rear end, shock absorbers and steering tie rod ends. Occasionally the steering box needs attention, but I've only ever seen one that required it and that owner had driven the car for almost two weeks with no fluid in the reservoir. Needless to say it needed a new pump as well, all over a $2 hose he was too lazy to replace when it split.