Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2000 ml430, 99 infiniti i30 limited edition
980 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey fellas!!! How is everyone? Quick history, while changing my brake pads in the front side, I noticed the rubber boots that cover the outer tie rod ends were cracked and splitting, my question is do I just replace the boots or the whole tie rod end? I have 115k miles on 2000 ml430. 43sqd, if you have any input, I would appreciate it a lot, since you're like the MB technician master in this forum. Or if anyone has an input, I am all ears. Thanks....:bowdown:

·
Outstanding Contributor
2006 ML500 2002 ML320
17,579 Posts
busop, I'm far from being a M/B master tech., I'm just a mechanic, but a car is a car and then all have the same operating principles and a Mercedes is no different.

There are no replacement boots for any front end parts, tie rods included. If they are ripped or cracked, you must buy the item. They are very easy to change; just loosen the nut that holds the tie rod end to the rack & pinion; then removed the nut that holds the tie rod end to the steering knuckle and bang the tie rod end out. Then with a pipe wrench turn off the tie rod end. Make sure you count the number of turns taking off and install with the same number of turns. You will need a wheel alignment after you are done.

·
Registered
980 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
That is so modest of you, really, I believe a lot of fellow members have learned a lot from you and once again, you have shared some valuable information. I really appreciate it and also thanks for the advice. I saw tie rod ends at germanstar.net for $ 39.00 and I think thats a good deal. Thanks again 43sqd. I have a part time job fixing computers so if there is anything I can help you with computers, dont hesitate to ask ok.

·
Registered
10' CX-9 GT-AWD, 03' e39, 98' ML (gone but not forgotten)
433 Posts