Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey all, im new to the forums and have driven BMW's my whole life. IM really new to Mercedes (as they were always out of my price range)

But my mother wants to buy an slk 230

not the AMG, just a 4 banger.

My question is, are they reliable cars? (im purchasing it for her and dont want to screw her over)

How many miles are they good for?
im looking at buying one around 30-40k miles.

Also any good online forums where people sell used Benz's?

Thank you for your help.

·
Registered
2003 SLK 320
684 Posts
quillbro - 2/17/2005 4:18 PM

not the AMG, just a 4 banger.
You could opt for the 6 cyl 320. There seem to be less engine problems than the already problem-free 230.

My question is, are they reliable cars? (im purchasing it for her and dont want to screw her over)
No problems here. Many have experienced minor cosmetic/electical problems, but some have had more. Don't get too scared by Miked619's testimony. Just make sure to have the car checked out and you should be fine. There haven't been many reports of anything major(which would compromise reliability) happening.

·
Registered
SLK 230 98'
88 Posts
They say that statistically it's the most reliable car in this range.

Have a 230. Had some problems though, well... expensive. Luckily it was taken care of by the dealer.

R

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
what kind of problems?

I guess thier tops might break after alot of uses...is this true?

All in all I think Im gonna go for this car.

Otherwise she wanted to get a 350z but im trying to keep our family out of the asian market. heh heh heh [:)]