Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Benzworld!

I've been contemplating buying a new (to me) car for a couple months, so I've been checking out this great resource; this is my first post! Originally, I wanted a W126 diesel but decided against that when I could have something much newer for a similar price! My commute is short and relatively traffic free so I don't need to worry about economy much.

I went to look at a 1996 S420 tonight. The body and interior are immaculate as far as I could tell under the lighting conditions. The place was closing so I didn't take it out on a drive but it started with ease and made no troublesome noise from the engine.

There are some things that either could or could not be major issues, so I need some opinions from people who know and love these cars; I have a feeling I've come to the right place!

Faults:
1. Passenger side climate control temp increase button does not work
2. Spare tire has a gash in it
3. Trunk does not close on every try, takes two or three tries
4. Floor mats are rubber Mercedes ones, but they look the wrong size for the car
5. Duct tape residue on the rear window, top center. Trunk is dry. Leak?
6. Service book last checked off in 2002 for the 48K Km service

Perhaps the trunk not closing might be result of collision damage incorrectly repaired. It's a local car, so any damage over $2000 will be on record.

It looks really nice for it's age and only has 133K (~83K miles). Asking price $5995.

Should I avoid it based on the above things or should I look into it more? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance!!!

·
93 SL500, 95 SL320, 96 S320, 98 S500, 2002 E320 4Matic Wagon & A little 91 5.0 FORD Mustang
8,063 Posts
Welcome aboard...

These are great cars,

I'm going to answer your questions:

1. Passenger side climate control temp increase button does not work