Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok first post...Sorry to cross post - I put this on the W123 list first by accident.

Im thinking about buying my first MB - 83 300sd.

I've only seen pics so far. Gonna go take a look soon.

The good

Cheap - Really cheap!! (500)
No rust
Everything works- or did.
Interior looks ok

The Bad
Previous owner ran unfiltered WVO (waste veg oil) - current owner said it killed the injection pump
Broken front windshield

Ok so here is my problem - Im a good mechanic - I've done all the work on all our cars over the years - but Im unsure if replacing a injector pump is within my abilities... Ive done a trans in an old honda under a tree once if that counts.

One other thought - maybe the injector pump isnt shot - just the filters and lines are clogged - the current owner says the engine will turn over just not start.

Its gonna be a daily driver - about 40 miles total. In addtion I've owned 2 VW TDI's

What are your thoughts - o expert ones!

Respectfully - T

·
Always Remembered RIP
10,146 Posts
Welcome, to take advantage of all the forum features, please make sure to read the
‘Welcome to the Forum,’ new members please read! tutorial sticky on top of the W126 page, as well as the two DIY stickies.

It will show how to search the forum (3 words min.), and has a link to the Russian MB site where you can run a VIN#. The forum archive has a wealth of information

You have found the best place for information on these cars, the w126, on the english language part of the internet.

Go to the "user CP" button, and update your profile information to show your hometown, and vehicle(s) and put the SD there also, if you purchase it.

Glad to have you here...