Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1988 Mercedes 300SE
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all.

New to this forum, but I have been posting in the 126 forum for a couple months. Wife likes my 126 so much, I'm in danger of losing it! I'm considering going on the hunt for a nice 107 to distract her. She's not a performance buff, and gas milage is her main concern. So, with that in mind, which of the type is the best in terms of rugged reliability? I know it's a matter of opinion of course, but for example, I'm a big fan of my W126 300se for the fact that the bulletproof straight 6 engine design is for the most part, smooth and trouble free. SE's handle the best out of the se, sel, sec 126 group (yes, better than the coupe... I didn't believe it either). What's the best set up for a 107? Best year? Best engine, etc, all from the reliability/fuel economy standpoint? Is there a good article posted somewhere that I can read to learn more about the type and it's weak points to watch for on an initial inspection?

Thanks!

Don

·
Premium Member
2010 Mercury Milan Hybrid, 1993 BMW 325i convertible
6,077 Posts
bigdon said:
She's not a performance buff, and gas milage is her main concern. So, with that in mind, which of the type is the best in terms of rugged reliability?
A 280SL (European only, but many were imported) is going to give you the best mileage, hands down. A 300SL would be second best. I'd stay completely away from any 450SL, maybe consider a late model 380SL, although the mileage wouldn't be anywhere near the 280, and maybe consider a late model 560SL.

I've averaged 14 mpg with my 450SL, and it's running right to spec.

·
Premium Member
87 300SL "Roadster" 86 420SEL "Limo" 89 420SEL The "New" Limo 87 190E 2.6 fact bodykit
1,575 Posts
Scott is right about the 450SL. Although a powerful V8 they aren't economical and are hard to find in good condition due to the age. IMHO 280SL are a good choice and quite economical but also getting old.