Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
'01 E430
Joined
·
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I recently sent out my cluster to repair the temp & clock pixel issue. When I got it back......I couldn't believe what had happened.

A. glass on cluster was cracked
B. get error message when I start the car.....Steering Gear Oil - Visit Workshop
C. when I first installed cluster, my mileage went from 84000 to 47000 and never went back
D. the Temp & Clock worked for about 3 seconds initially and then went out completely (sorta like a fuse blew)....haven't worked since
E. on center display, one light is out (replaced it, will still only work sometimes if I bang on the dash)
F. at night, when I turn the lights on, only the left side 1/4 of the cluster lights up, and when I bang on the dash with my hand the rest will light up
G. the tachometer is inaccurate because when it's showing 4500 rpm, engine is really at 3200 (scanned on mechanic's computer)

I tried calling the guy I had sent it to.....doesn't want to take responsibility. I just wanted to know if you guys have any suggestions on what I should do to try to fix the issues myself.
 

·
Premium Member
2001 E320 - Brilliant Silver/Ash: 107,000+
Joined
·
17,193 Posts
Please complete your profile using the User CP option (found at the top of this page), or at least tell us what year and type of MB you have; it might help someone answer you.

You obviously have several problems, some of which are probably related. Some of your answers might be found by using the search function for "pixel" or "cluster". Hint: Search the entire forum because pixel/cluster issues are not unique to the W210. Good Luck!
 

·
Registered
1994 E320 Wagon,1999 E320 Wagon,2000 E 320 Wagon, MGB Track/Rally, ,1988 300E ,more....
Joined
·
6,019 Posts
pull the

cluster and make sure all the ribbons are fully seated,check the bulbs,some appear to be blown.Find a junker and replace the cluster glass.
Who did the repair?was the glass cracked when you sent it to him?
in the diy section is diy for cluster repair.If you need another,
Potomac German Auto : Nation's Largest Since 1979
ohlord:bowdown:
 

·
Registered
'01-E320 & 02-ST2
Joined
·
31,631 Posts
Assuming(!) it worked fine when he packed it, then if he packed it poorly, the damage is his responsibility. If he packed it well and the box was damaged in shipping, then make a claim with the shipper.

If he packed it well and the box was fine, my guess is he messed it up and doesn't want to own up for it. How did you pay? If it was credit card then you can use the dispute resolution procedure with your credit card issuer to resolve the payment issue, but not the repair issue.

My guess is that one is a goner with all the physical damage (or at least it would cost too much to repair at this point). I'd personally look for a replacement.
 

·
Registered
'01 E430
Joined
·
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 · (Edited)
Got a few things working

I changed the 2 yellow bulbs and now 3/4 of the lights are working without banging the dash. I don't know which bulb is the one for the farmost right side of the tach 4-7k rpm. It might be blown or maybe a bad connection. I'm hoping that someone might be able to point it out in the inluded pic (generic pic found on web).

As for the tachometer not being accurate, my mechanic said that the cluster is probably from a 4 or 6 cyl. E-class and is incompatible with the V8 signal. Can someone confirm whether this is true or not? Speedometer, gas guage and motor temp work fine.

As for the packaging, it was wrapped in bubble wrap going and coming. When I sent him my cluster, the only thing wrong with it was that it needed the pixel repair. I got back a complete junker. Now I regret sending it out to begin with.
 

Attachments

·
Registered
2001 SLK 320(217K Miles), 2002 E320 Special Edition(183K Miles)
Joined
·
3,468 Posts
Sounds like they send you a different cluster back instead of your own one. (a) Wrong mileage in cluster - bad for resale and will be seen as tampering! (b) V6 cluster instead of your V8.
I would contact them and demand the original cluster back.
 

·
Registered
2003 Mercedes Benz E500
Joined
·
668 Posts
+1...

Sounds like they send you a different cluster back instead of your own one. (a) Wrong mileage in cluster - bad for resale and will be seen as tampering! (b) V6 cluster instead of your V8.
I would contact them and demand the original cluster back.
on Kobus's advice. What is your location and the repair facility's location? If after being confronted with the information on the "switch," they still remain uncooperative, a small claims court action of some sort may be required.

I would get a statement from your mechanic detailing the cause of the inaccuracy in the tach reading, and/or back check the part number, if possible, with a Mercedes parts department.

Get your documentation together and draft a "demand letter" stating that they either return your cluster, fixed, or pay you the cost of a new one. Send the demand letter "priority mail with delivery confirmation" If you send it certified mail, the miscreant may just refuse to sign for it...

Even with a new cluster, you will still have the problem of an inaccurate odometer reading. I am not sure whether the dealer will help you out there or not...

Keep us posted, and BTW, once again... how about completing your profile?

JR
 

·
Registered
2003 Mercedes Benz E500
Joined
·
668 Posts
True...

A new cluster can be programmed with the correct mileage.
however, what the dealer will accept for documentation in order perform the re-set of the mileage, if the car was not dealer maintained, is what I was questioning. Even on dealer maintained cars, some dealers are reluctant to set the mileage, as they only get one "shot" on the Star system to get it right; if they foul up, the cluster has to be then sent to a VDO service facility in order to get the mileage correctly entered, at their cost.

JR
 

·
Registered
2000 E430 4Matic
Joined
·
173 Posts
Who did the repair work?

If the service was as bad as you say it was, you need to inform the community so no one else uses his service.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,463 Posts
If you had followed the DIY, you would have realized it's not that difficult to do it on your own really... Really!!
If I can do it with success, I think almost anyone can... it's hindsight now, but you should file a chargeback (if paid by credit card) if the seller continues to give you a hard time.
 

·
Registered
2000 E430 4Matic
Joined
·
173 Posts
If you had followed the DIY, you would have realized it's not that difficult to do it on your own really... Really!!
Not looking to get in a pissing match, but that statement is not accurate.

The "fix" will only work 100% in some instances, partially in others, and some not at all. It all depends on just what is wrong and how bad it is.

I have been restoring/fixing cars for 30 years and it took me all of 1 minute to get my dash out, and a few minutes to put the "fix" in place. I only got my temp side to work. The other side has ribbon that is either too far degraded or it has dead pixels. Either way, I am not about to try and resolder the ribbon and contacts with Gold and I obviously can't fix a dead pixel.

I will be sending mine out and it is the first time in many years where I can't fix my own cars issues. Other people have had the same problems.
 

·
Registered
2008 S550 designo
Joined
·
396 Posts
Not looking to get in a pissing match, but that statement is not accurate.

The "fix" will only work 100% in some instances, partially in others, and some not at all. It all depends on just what is wrong and how bad it is.

I have been restoring/fixing cars for 30 years and it took me all of 1 minute to get my dash out, and a few minutes to put the "fix" in place. I only got my temp side to work. The other side has ribbon that is either too far degraded or it has dead pixels. Either way, I am not about to try and resolder the ribbon and contacts with Gold and I obviously can't fix a dead pixel.

I will be sending mine out and it is the first time in many years where I can't fix my own cars issues. Other people have had the same problems.
Agreed. I attempted the fix for my temp display that was showing only partial pixels. I made it worse. I sent it to bba-reman and they made it 100%.

Some things are better left to the professionals, I think.

trey
 

·
Registered
'01 E430
Joined
·
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #15 ·
Matt L:
A new cluster can be programmed with the correct mileage.
How would the dealer get the correct mileage? Is it stored somewhere other than the cluster? Is it possible to recode a used cluster? Do they use the Star Diagnosis to get at it? Please explain cause I don't want to have issues if I ever decide to sell the car.

By the way, I think it would be difficult for me to file a claim because he is in Germany and I am in Canada. I will give him a call tommorow and see what'll happen. I'll take a decision from there.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,463 Posts
The "fix" will only work 100% in some instances, partially in others, and some not at all. It all depends on just what is wrong and how bad it is.

I will be sending mine out and it is the first time in many years where I can't fix my own cars issues. Other people have had the same problems.
Yes true, but at least trying it on your own (like you have done) is a good start. I never said it was an end all fix all remedy anyway. It's really a hit or miss, some of us get lucky some don't. It was my temp display that was missing a bunch of pixels and at first I was only getting a few pixels to reappear, but I was persistent and after a number of more tries over and over - I hit the jackpot. I found out through trial and error that having it plugged-in while playing with the placement of the foam shims on the ribbon eventually produced magical results. In the end though after you have exhausted countless efforts with no good results, then a professional fix may be needed.
 

·
Registered
2003 Mercedes Benz E500
Joined
·
668 Posts
If you had...

How would the dealer get the correct mileage? Is it stored somewhere other than the cluster? Is it possible to recode a used cluster? Do they use the Star Diagnosis to get at it? Please explain cause I don't want to have issues if I ever decide to sell the car.

By the way, I think it would be difficult for me to file a claim because he is in Germany and I am in Canada. I will give him a call tommorow and see what'll happen. I'll take a decision from there.
completed your profile and given us the whole story, like the location of the repair facility that worked on the cluster, it would have avoided responses [like mine] which do not fit your situation.

I just love it when people dole out the information in installments... :D

The source of your mileage was one of the things that bothered me about a potential dealer replacement. To my knowledge, the cluster is the only place on the vehicle this data is stored.

I would suggest that you call a dealer's service department, and see that documentation they find acceptable for setting mileage. This may vary from dealer to dealer, and some may refuse to set it at all... After all, you did not go to them for the problem, and if they screw up now, they give you a new cluster and have to get the messed up cluster re-set by VDO on their dime.

I realize this is addressed to Matt L, and hate to be the bearer of bad tidings... but the ball is in your court in dealing with the dealer and seeing what can be done, or getting your original cluster back from the miscreant that did the switch.

Good luck,

JR
 

·
Registered
'01 E430
Joined
·
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #18 · (Edited)
Called the guy today and he said I should send back the cluster and he'll take care of it. He refused to acknowledge whether it was my cluster or not. He did ask me to include my car's serial number though. I assume he wants to program a working one and send it to me. As for the broken glass, he said that it was damaged in shipping. I know that can't be true cause it was wrapped in heavy bubble wrap both ways. Anyway, I'll send him the cluster and see what happens from there cause I don't think it could get any worse than it already is. I'll keep you guys posted.
 

·
Premium Member
2001 E320 - Brilliant Silver/Ash: 107,000+
Joined
·
17,193 Posts
OK, newbie01, please do kep us posted and Good Luck!
 

·
Registered
01 E430 4Matic, 98 BWM M3
Joined
·
74 Posts
I lost Temp/Time on my cluster as well.
How do I do DIY if there is one available? If not, where do I need to send it to get fixed?
 
1 - 20 of 22 Posts
Top