Mercedes-Benz Forum banner
1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I currently have a '96 c200. lately I experienced an overheating problem.. temp was over 120 deg centigrade. as a result of a failed water pump. this was fixed and temp got to normal.
I bought the car used and with no updated car history aside servicing et al.

Now, I have tapping/knocking sound whenever I am on gas, and the sound is more when the engine has warmed up. when I start in the mornings and press the gas, I hardly hear this sound.
Also it revs excellently with no sound and idles very well.

My mechanic says its most likely to be the temp switch located just after the thermostat with four/4 pins.. (pls whats the function of this switch). I have also noticed increase in fuel consumption.

Please Advice so I don't make a mistake as I am very new to Mercedes.

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
@ wichipong, its only when the I need to move with the throttle pressed. as in, when I tell the car to move...

u suggested it could be the tensioner, but I think the sound is from the engine. because when I drive in the morning with the temp just starting to rise, the sound isnt noticed or heard.. and it seem to come from the engine.... sound is similar to that from a cars that uses manual ignition when the setting is high... I just pray someone understands what I am tryn to explain...

Thanks all- pls help!

·
Registered
54 Posts
@ wichipong, its only when the I need to move with the throttle pressed. as in, when I tell the car to move...

u suggested it could be the tensioner, but I think the sound is from the engine. because when I drive in the morning with the temp just starting to rise, the sound isnt noticed or heard.. and it seem to come from the engine.... sound is similar to that from a cars that uses manual ignition when the setting is high... I just pray someone understands what I am tryn to explain...

Thanks all- pls help!