Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings to all as a new member! As a fairly new owner of a 1974 450SL, I am playing "catch up" in completing repairs as this model has less than 20,000 miles after being stored for over 40 years. I've recently learned of the subframe recall and that this car does have a small crack. Following the recommendation of my independent MBZ mechanic, I've taken the car to a dealer who initially said that the campaign is active and that Mercedes would cover all replacements. Now, though, after the dealer spoke to their national representative from Mercedes, they are saying that no subframes or reinforcements are available and that there's nothing they can do for the car or to help in any other way. Obviously, that's not acceptable but I'm new to this whole endeavor and wondered if anyone has any suggestions for how I should handle the situation when contacting Mercedes corporate. The car was purchased from a Mercedes dealer in Paris and fully federalized when transported to the US in 1974.
Thank you so much for any assistance! I have joined Mercedes club and show the car periodically but also use it as a daily driver and want to ensure it's care and safety. Please also advise if this isn't the correct forum to post this request upon.

·
Registered
54 Posts
Good luck with your attempts to get MB to fix your subframe, I have no comments of that issue. What I have comments about is, don't use your car when you know you have cracks in your subframe!!

·
Registered
2,117 Posts
It is true that there aren't any more subframes available through the dealer network.

There are specimens available on ebay for a pretty penny ($~1k). You might be able to buy one out of pocket and have them install it for you under warranty. You'd have to come to some sort of agreement with the dealer.