Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'll start by apologising because I realise how stupid this sounds... :eek:

Complete newbie but hoping to get either a Vito or Viano, budget means it will be a slightly older model. I'm aware that there have been various models throughout the years but I'm not sure how many different models there have been (or what varies on each model).

Would anyone briefly be able to list the models that were released so I can research the differences and find out which is most suitable for me? (I'm more interested in the extras on the car rather than difference in engine sizes etc, as long as it's in good working order then even the most basic model will be fine for me mechanically).

Thanks for reading, appreciate any help :)

·
Registered
213 Posts
Vito uses the same chassis as V-Class.

Vito was kinda the cheap model and never shipped as 7 or 8 seats, it was more like a van. V-Class is the more expensive and luxury model. All the Vito enginges are the same 2.2L only different ECU which gives them different BHP. The 108CDI uses a different radiator without a cooling fan, if I'm not wrong.

The Vito comes in: 113, 110D, 108CDI, 110CDI and finally 112CDI.

I don't know how many versions of V class were made.

Just one single tip from me, don't buy the old 110D engine, or the petrol 113 engine.

Go for either 110CDI or 112CDI. The 108CDI is 80BHP which can feel a little bit slow for its weight.

I personally have a 108CDI and 110CDI.

Check for service history, and search up black death here on forum and read about the symptoms. Check if all gears work etc. etc. etc.

And I personally, in my opinion w638 (1997-2003) looks way more good then w639 (2004-)

Good luck!

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks so much for this, got lots of research to do (as you can tell lol), so great to have the info to get started.