Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
'82 500 SEL (Euro)
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,
I'm a newbie here, live downunder & have an '82 H.K. 500 SEL with 62k miles. The beast died the other day & the problem was no power to the fuel pump so I replaced f/p module but still no power to the fuel pump I then jumped the pins & bingo the pump was buzzing & the car started so I replaced the module again but no luck,... after a 3rd module still no power to the f/p. My question is what else does the module send/recieve signals to? or is their something else I/m overlooking?
All other electricals check-out OK.
Many Thanks in advance

·
Registered
Depends on the day!
13,337 Posts
Might be your EZL unit...

Jonathan

·
Registered
380sel 1983
31 Posts
When you write f/p relay do you mean the tachometric relay? (see attached pic)If so had the same problem. The relays have a tendancy to stick internally. I found the very scientific method of giving them a sound couple of thumps on the side of the fuse box and the replacing it worked a treat. Had no problems since. Tarquin

Attachments

·
Registered
Depends on the day!
13,337 Posts
Well, I'd try the tapping the relay bit, but if it's new it shouldn't be acting up on you like that... Who makes your replacement relay?

Jonathan

·
Registered
1985 500SEL
835 Posts
Robo:

I had similar problems..
i would first check for Feul with jumpering the relay, which u did...
so the fuel pump is ok

then I would check for spark...
pull a wire and put a used spark plug and hold it with isulated pliers and try to crank

if u don;t see spark then it could be the coil or the ignition control module

I replaced both in mine and it started right up

Good luck

·
Registered
'82 500 SEL (Euro)
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Many thanks to all that have posted a reply.