Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
Black 2001 SLK 320 6spd
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi

I am looking for some tire & suspension advice.

I've been autox-ing my 6spd SLK for a few years now. Bone stock except my 2nd year I ran Hoosier A6s (now corded). So right now I'm running (bone stock) except I'm using my street tires: Yoko Advan Neovas mounted on 18x8s. Which bumps me to ASP and no way am I competitive in ASP with stock suspension and street tires.

We don't ge a lot of cars out, usually 40-60, and the classes don't mean a lot other than PAX. I have been working on my driving big time and have placed 2nd overall (raw time) behind "better" cars a few times and am usually in the top 10. Last weekend in the rain I finished 0.08 sec behind FTD. I'm seldom beat by cars on street tires. But thats just my little local pond :) Different story when I head to bigger events farther away. Not trying to brag but rather give some background to my own (ongoing) driver development as I know the biggest improvements in autox are in the driver.

I have a few choices/decisions:

1. Buy another set of A6s and mount them on my stock rims (16x7 F, 16x8 R). I think I can fit 225-50s on the front and 245-45s on the rear. Has anyone tried this?

2. Should I upgrade my shocks? (I can do this and stay in BS). I'm thinking Bilstein Sports. Any with any experience using these shocks?

Or I have a set of light 18x8s ...

3. Buy A6s or 710s (I've heard 710s last longer but A6s can be remounted "inside out"), think I can fit 245-35s. Has anyone tried this?

4. Any comments/recommendations BASED ON YOUR EXPERIENCE re: A6s vs 710s?

5. This means I'd be ASP so I might as well upgrade my suspension. Any suggestions/advice? Should I aim to upgrade to SLK32 components or go aftermarket? Springs, shocks and bars.

Thanks in advance.

Cheers,
Mike

·
Registered
Black 2001 SLK 320 6spd
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
No one here autocrosses? I'm surprised.