Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My 2007 SL550 has a hydraulic leak on the passenger side above the window on the hard top convertible. It leaks only after being closed. It opens and closes perfect just after it closes or during closing it leaks hydraulic fluid all over the passenger seat. I am assuming there is a leak in a line or I think there is a cylinder there that must have a o-ring or something going out.

I used to be a mechanic so I have skills but not on Mercedes or convertible tops and limited hydraulics.

Any ideas or schematics of the system would be very helpful. Even just a quick patch fix in the meantime so its atleast not leaking everytime I close it. Thought if I could just put a rag up in there for now or something? I dont even know how to open up the headliner properly to inspect anything. Thanks

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks PhamB for the reply.

Only thing is that I am actually trying to sell this car ASAP as I need the extra $ and I dont have the time to do a whole new refab as well take out, send, wait and then re-install everything.

Car has 66k miles but it is in Hawaii in a very hot area so I am imagining that the heat made the seal go out early in whatever part is there.

Is there anyway I can just repair that one part that is leaking? I could still send it in but I dont even know how to get in there and take it out. Do you have any support on removing that leaking part and know what part is actually leaking above the passenger seat/window when I close the top? Thanks

·
Registered
SL500, 2000, R129
5 Posts
If it's the cylinder up front above the visor, you can repair it yourself pretty easily. I bought new rings on eBay and repaired one of mine.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks again for the info...