Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking to purchase a 320SL. I am located in Greece.I have seen a good number of cars.I have the following questions :

So far I found 5 variations of gearboxes, at least from the options on the lever indications (see attached photos). The one in the middle, is it a 4 or 5 speed ? There were versions with and without sport mode ?

I studied the history of versions and face-lifts, but I can find cars of 1997 with no digital indication for the kilometres (although it changed to digital on 1995). I found 2 cars of 1997 with 3 vents behind the front wheels (although from 1995 changed to 2 vents).
I am a bit confused.

Any help is appreciated

Regards

Panos
Athens / Greece

·
Registered
97 SL600 Pano, ex: 96 (late 95) SL320
257 Posts
The ones without "4" should be the 4 speed versions. My old 96 SL320 with the 5 speed 722.5 had the one from the 3rd picture, PRND432 without economy/standard or winter/summer selector (no such thing as sport on these, I think). It was a Japanese import. My friend has a 96 SL320 from Europe (Germany I think) and it has the E/S selector.

The last one is the 5 speed electronic controlled 722.6.

I would be very careful about a "97" car with an analog odometer. The instrument clusters from older cars aren't even compatible with a 97 because the connectors changed from round to square that year.

And yes, a 97 had 2 rounded slot vents. Of course it maybe possible you're looking at cars that were first registered years after they rolled out of the factory. In many countries the year of first registration matters most. But that sounds unlikely if you've found several.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3