Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1250v
516 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im planning on putting my truck to work on a few small projects around my house. I'm hoping to use the truck to dump some piles of topsoil that I can rake out for a new section of lawn. My question is can I back out onto a 3 to 1 slope and side dump to the high side. It seems like dumping to the high side of the truck should be fine, but I have no experience with this sort of thing. If it does tip over it will have a soft landing in my pond.

·
Registered
85' U1300L Holset Turbo VA A/C, 66' Propane 404.1 rock mog, 1975 416 Doka, G500, Volvo C303
5,251 Posts
Im planning on putting my truck to work on a few small projects around my house. I'm hoping to use the truck to dump some piles of topsoil that I can rake out for a new section of lawn. My question is can I back out onto a 3 to 1 slope and side dump to the high side. It seems like dumping to the high side of the truck should be fine, but I have no experience with this sort of thing. If it does tip over it will have a soft landing in my pond.

I can’t imagine being worried about it either way on a 3/12 slope. Especially if you dump uphill.

·
Registered
1250v
516 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks, I was thinking the same thing. I just don't want to be the guy that tipped over my truck with the first load! Haha

·
Registered
1976 406 w/ backhoe and dozer blade, a small collection of implements too
1,576 Posts
Ben, how much of an angle will your bet tilt to?

I'd have to double check this but I know I posted some pics of mine tilting to what I remember is about 45 degrees.

Just pondering how much reduction in effective tilt you'd have dumping up hill.

Mainly curiosity.

You have more hours running equipment than most people I know, so your judgements on the limits of stability are pretty sound. If you do decide to go for down hill dumping, and it gets weird, I'm confident you'll stop in time.