Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie with a 2002 C230K which has approx 34k miles on it. I just bought it in November of 2007 and I ALREADY have a CEL on. I had Autozone pull the codes 131 & 171. Is there any chance this could be covered by the extended warranty I purchased? If not could this be a costly repair? I will not be taking this to a MB stealership but I do have an appt at Carmax (where I purchased it from).

·
Registered
1,271 Posts
Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie with a 2002 C230K which has approx 34k miles on it. I just bought it in November of 2007 and I ALREADY have a CEL on. I had Autozone pull the codes 131 & 171. Is there any chance this could be covered by the extended warranty I purchased? If not could this be a costly repair? I will not be taking this to a MB stealership but I do have an appt at Carmax (where I purchased it from).
Lots of reasons for Check Engine Light/CEL
You could have a clogged Air Filter. Clogged Fuel Filter.
You could have over revved it and jack rabbit like I did this past Summer
and saw 2 or 3 lights come on quickly. Disappeared in about 2 minutes
CEL means that. Check the Engine. Make sure something is not amiss.
CarMax is not qualified to troubleshoot an MB.
Good mechanics yes, but MB is European

OBTW; Your Under Warranty. WHY not get a Cursory Inspection at your
Local Stealership? For giggles....

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
It's not an MB warranty which is why I'm not taking it to a stealership, it's Max Care from Car Max. I called CM this morning and they told me it is covered under the warranty. They also stated in the off chance it's something they can't handle, they would take to a MB dealer. OK Charles...since I'm a "girl" :) what does jack rabbit mean??

·
Registered
11 Posts