Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,767 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Setting My GPS On My 05 S 500.

I Have The New GPS CD And I Still Can't Set The NUMBER In The Address, I Can Set The Street And City,
But If The Street Is 5 Miles Long ,, I'm Still Lost Like 5 Miles Off My Mark

Question Can The Address Number Be Set On My 05 S 500
GPS ?
If Not What Good Is The M-Benz GPS System

Thank You
Harley03joe :Smoker:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
719 Posts
On mine once I set the street number I hit list or something and it shows a list of numbers and I select the one my number is in between and there I go..
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,767 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
On mine once I set the street number I hit list or something and it shows a list of numbers and I select the one my number is in between and there I go..
Ok I'LL Try That
Thanks
Harley03joe :Smoker:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,077 Posts
I got my Nav disc ( 2010 maps ) off Ebay. The DVD can be copied for backup purposes.
Still, the navigation system stinks. Bad contrast - in daytime mode, white roads on gray background. I am using night mode permanently.
Also not TTS ( Text To Speech ) to announce street names.
Why couldn't MB just have licensed Garmin and be done with it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
627 Posts
My 2004 Nav

Factory oem with 2009 DVD after you enter city,
then street you go towards bottom of screen and House No or something like that lets you enter the address number.

IE you set City :palm Beach, Street: Australian Ave, House NO: 330

then you hit the button and it offers you a range ie 301-399 or 300-398
hi-light the range press button it will get you to within a few house numbers + or -

Keep in mind almost NO CARS had NAV in 2003 & ours were factory installed
with all S500 S600
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,767 Posts
Discussion Starter #7

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,767 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
I got my Nav disc ( 2010 maps ) off Ebay. The DVD can be copied for backup purposes.
Still, the navigation system stinks. Bad contrast - in daytime mode, white roads on gray background. I am using night mode permanently.
Also not TTS ( Text To Speech ) to announce street names.
Why couldn't MB just have licensed Garmin and be done with it.
(( Why couldn't MB just have licensed Garmin and be done with it.))

There You Go Useing Your Head .. My Kind Of Thinking
Yes The M-Benz Nav System Really Sucks
Harley03joe :Smoker:
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,767 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Factory oem with 2009 DVD after you enter city,
then street you go towards bottom of screen and House No or something like that lets you enter the address number.

IE you set City :palm Beach, Street: Australian Ave, House NO: 330

then you hit the button and it offers you a range ie 301-399 or 300-398
hi-light the range press button it will get you to within a few house numbers + or -

Keep in mind almost NO CARS had NAV in 2003 & ours were factory installed
with all S500 S600
Ok Will Try That ,,, But It Still Sucks :D
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
930 Posts
You can set the number, it's just a set of numbers like 126-256 or 127-257 Main St. and usually gets you in the ballpark and the correct (even or odd) side of the road.

Being close to the number is important, but choosing odd or even is also just as important especially on bigger roads that have medians.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,767 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
You can set the number, it's just a set of numbers like 126-256 or 127-257 Main St. and usually gets you in the ballpark and the correct (even or odd) side of the road.

Being close to the number is important, but choosing odd or even is also just as important especially on bigger roads that have medians.
Ok Thank You
I Got It Set Now
Thanks
Harley03joe :Smoker:
 
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
Top