Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just recently purchased a 1992 300se, it is the first mercedes i have owned. I would like to staye up front i am very mechanically inclined but i don't know a damn thing about mercedes. The xar has 152k on odometer but it quit working along with speedometer 3days after i got the car. Check engine light is on and abs light, i have not been able to run the codes yet.
The problems started when driving the car just dropped out dead, and wouldnt refire, next day it started and died. All symptoms pointed to crank shaft position sensor which i purched, and installed.
This is where my major issue started, i needed to jump start the car after i put in the cps. The car fired right up, and idled great but if i applied gas it bogged down and died. I found a short in the pigtail fuel injector 6. Upon checking further the entire harness was degraded to the point where i couldnt believe it was running. I then purchased a used harness (i do not have much money) this one is much better. I installed it. Car starts no problem but again if i push the gas pedal the engine bogs out and dies, but if i gently push the pedal it will do just fine. Once it bogs it will rough idle and fall flat . Shut it off restart it idles fine if i pit it in gear push gas it shudders boggs down and dies. Ive checked vacume lines there good.
I dont know what to look into next, so i would greatly appreciate any help.
Someone i know told me to look into some voltage protector relay which i havent had time to study up on yet.
Thank you for any help
A.Stoner

·
Premium Member
'99 S420 116K
1,394 Posts