Mercedes-Benz Forum banner
481 - 500 of 524 Posts

·
W220 Moderator
Joined
·
8,399 Posts
Discussion Starter · #481 · (Edited)
Hi,

Tyres fitted and balanced, and I managed to do all 4 without scratching / chipping the finish anywhere :grin

Gonna take me a while to get used to the Gunmetal colour ....................

I can't go for a test drive yet as I've only got 10 of the correct length / type of Wheel Bolts, so currently there is only 3 Bolts holding each Front Wheel and 2 Bolts holding each Rear Wheel, I can drive it in and out of the Workshop but I wouldn't take it up the road like that, there is a new set of 20 Wheel Bolts in the post, but they didn't arrive today :wink

I'm going to finish the Bi Xenon's install tomorrow, I have all the proper Plugs and Wiring Connectors from MB arrived yesterday, plus all the new fancy 5000k Bulbs etc, several different makes of H7's to try in the Full Beams and Fogs, see if I can get 'em to look "whiter light" like the Xenons :devil

The Plugs and Wiring Connectors weren't cheap, just under £66 and that's with my discount :frown , but at least it will all be done properly with the correct plugs etc :smile

Piccies
 

Attachments

  • Like
Reactions: Deplore and doni01

·
W220 Moderator
Joined
·
8,399 Posts
Discussion Starter · #483 · (Edited)
Auto folding mirrors on lock and unlocking using convenience feature. (I'm trying to convert mine as we speak)
1 touch auto fold-in/out mirrors. (I'm trying to convert mine as we speak) :grin
Hi,

Please let me know how you do this, I have been looking at achieving it with mine, I have a 2001 S500 to break for parts, that has working 1 touch folding, I currently suspect it is to do with having a different DCM, (perhaps it has had a replacement from a later Car), as I have tried various codings on my personal W220 to no avail.

The bug bear is my W220 has Heated and Cooled Seats, but the breaker car does not so I cannot use that DCM, but when I get time I might just plug it in and see if I can get the One Touch and Fold on Locking working, then if I can I'll look at getting the correct DCM, or it may even be that the Heating and Cooling Buttons can be swapped into the "1 touch" DCM I've not had one apart in a while :wink

Mels C Class did not have this option, but it did have "one touch", I got that one folding / unfolding upon lock purely by Version Coding DCM, (and IIRC Dash Cluster, but maybe not it was a few years back now) !!

Cheers
 
  • Like
Reactions: johnksss

·
W220 Moderator
Joined
·
8,399 Posts
Discussion Starter · #485 ·
Hi @tusabes

Thanks for that, I thought they could but was not absolutely certain as it has been a while since I had a DCM off a Car :wink

So, swap the DCM and swap Switches, and then maybe just version code the seat fans function, so with any luck I should then have the one touch working and hopefully the Fold upon Locking feature can be coded from there :grin

Cheers
 
  • Like
Reactions: johnksss

·
Registered
2001 S430
Joined
·
393 Posts
Hi,

With current knowledge I'd opt for brand new Bilstein Airmatic Struts as and when you need them, they will give you some warning before they "go south" :)

You [email protected]@r lol, I though I had the lowest mileage pre facelift W220 here at 34,000 miles :devil

As Tusabes says, good deal at $10k :wink

Cheers,
You are right about the struts. Just went through this over the course of the last two weeks. I tried two 150.00 dollar struts and my car road like I was in a lowrider. The 3rd one came from Arnott (300.00) and now the car is riding fine.

@Dave2302

It takes 4 parts. You need both DCM's + mirror switch from a car newer than an 01. And you also need the updated Instrument Cluster. You know you have one if you can get to the hidden menu. And they all need to be coded correctly. I think I have the right drivers DCM, but the passenger may be wrong. So I ordered 2 05's and hopefully they will be here Monday. I am really eager to see if it works.

To the your other post.

It seems that this option was on some 02 cars and more so on 03 and up. The heat/cool can be swapped out and recoded to work the correct buttons for the seats.
 

·
Registered
2001 S430
Joined
·
393 Posts
Well damn Dave! I found this thread by accident, but what an excellent accident it was. Did not know you had that much time and effort invested in the S500.

Great job!

I need to swap out my grill and hood ornament just like yours.
 

·
W220 Moderator
Joined
·
8,399 Posts
Discussion Starter · #488 ·
Hi @johnksss ,

Thanks for confirming that. Maybe European Cars got this option a bit earlier ?

So my breaker Car which definitely has working "one touch" must have all these parts on it, I know it was a very late 2001 / early 02 registered compared to my own restored S Class, which is a mid 2001 reg.

I do have the "mirror fold upon locking" option on the cluster in my good Car, I already Version Coded that, but still they refused to work, obviously I now know I can swap the Mirror Switch pack and DCM's over using the heated / cooling Switches from my good car so here's hoping :grin

Very busy right now, but I'll try and get the DCM's and Switches swapped soon :smile

Cheers,
 
  • Like
Reactions: johnksss

·
W220 Moderator
Joined
·
8,399 Posts
Discussion Starter · #489 ·
Hi @johnksss ,

It's been a long haul, and not being daily used yet, as I'm too busy to have finished the Paintwork yet, but it gets my trade plates on it and a good run up the Glen and back, around 32 miles, a couple or 3 times a month just to keep everything moving etc.

Have you actually read it from day one lol, get some popcorn and a flask of coffee / six pack of beers :wink

Cheers,
 
  • Like
Reactions: johnksss

·
W220 Moderator
Joined
·
8,399 Posts
Discussion Starter · #490 ·
Hi @johnksss ,

OK, well it started raining, so as most of what I wanted to do was outside, I decided to swap the DCM's from Car to Car ......................

So, both left and right DCM's are same p/n, and both Right are HW/02 SW/01, the Left (passenger) off of the breaker Car was HW/02 SW/01, and Left (passenger) of my good Car was HW/01 SW/01, I swapped the Mirror Switches too.

Breaker Car has absolutely no menu on it's dash for "convenience", my good Car does, and has the option for "Mirror Fold Upon Locking" which was set to "YES" ............................

The Good Car with the DCM's etc off the Breaker Car still stubbornly refuses to do "One Touch" or "Fold Upon Locking" they do of course Fold in / out if I push and hold the Buttons !!

With the DCM's off my good Car the Breaker Car is still doing "One Touch" Folding :confused:

I give up for now, it has obviously got nothing to do with my DCM's or Mirror Switch, it must be a Version Coding issue, but what or where I have absolutely no Idea.

Not having a very good day here, I'd have been happy if at least my Car now had "One Touch" Mirror Folding ............................

When I did Mels C Class, as far as I remember it was just Coding in DCM(s) and Dash and they worked a treat ...........................

:dunno:
 
  • Like
Reactions: johnksss

·
Registered
2001 S430
Joined
·
393 Posts
Hi,

With current knowledge I'd opt for brand new Bilstein Airmatic Struts as and when you need them, they will give you some warning before they "go south" :)

You [email protected]@r lol, I though I had the lowest mileage pre facelift W220 here at 34,000 miles :devil

As Tusabes says, good deal at $10k :wink

Cheers,
Hi @johnksss ,

Thanks for confirming that. Maybe European Cars got this option a bit earlier ?

So my breaker Car which definitely has working "one touch" must have all these parts on it, I know it was a very late 2001 / early 02 registered compared to my own restored S Class, which is a mid 2001 reg.

I do have the "mirror fold upon locking" option on the cluster in my good Car, I already Version Coded that, but still they refused to work, obviously I now know I can swap the Mirror Switch pack and DCM's over using the heated / cooling Switches from my good car so here's hoping :grin

Very busy right now, but I'll try and get the DCM's and Switches swapped soon :smile

Cheers,
It is possible. I just checked the data card on mine and it says April 06, 2001 and it didn't have auto folding nor the menu options for it.
 

·
Registered
2001 S430
Joined
·
393 Posts
Hi @johnksss ,

OK, well it started raining, so as most of what I wanted to do was outside, I decided to swap the DCM's from Car to Car ......................

So, both left and right DCM's are same p/n, and both Right are HW/02 SW/01, the Left (passenger) off of the breaker Car was HW/02 SW/01, and Left (passenger) of my good Car was HW/01 SW/01, I swapped the Mirror Switches too.

Breaker Car has absolutely no menu on it's dash for "convenience", my good Car does, and has the option for "Mirror Fold Upon Locking" which was set to "YES" ............................

The Good Car with the DCM's etc off the Breaker Car still stubbornly refuses to do "One Touch" or "Fold Upon Locking" they do of course Fold in / out if I push and hold the Buttons !!

With the DCM's off my good Car the Breaker Car is still doing "One Touch" Folding :confused:

I give up for now, it has obviously got nothing to do with my DCM's or Mirror Switch, it must be a Version Coding issue, but what or where I have absolutely no Idea.

Not having a very good day here, I'd have been happy if at least my Car now had "One Touch" Mirror Folding ............................

When I did Mels C Class, as far as I remember it was just Coding in DCM(s) and Dash and they worked a treat ...........................

:dunno:
Mine are as follows.
220 821 16 79 HW/01 SW/05 -

The breaker car would appear to be permanently coded in DAS, but the convenience menu can be turned on to show in the dash.

So that is interesting news that both DCM's work on the breaker car.

Now the hard part.... How good is your German? It is in these sections of DAS that you have to program as well to get some options to actually work. The Cluster has about 130+ options on 1 menu. Which seem to be basically the same as the english menu. Maybe the coding is there? There are settings to activate 1 touch which has to be working for autofold to work. It also has to be activated on the right key or keys. Convenience needs to be turned on for the keys if not defaulted to not use independant keys.

I'm really hoping it's not the mirror itself as I haven't really wanted to change that part. And more so not now as the car has been repainted.

I'm really hoping it's a just a coding situation as you proved both sets of DCM's can auto fold and do 1 touch.
 

·
Registered
2001 S430
Joined
·
393 Posts
Hi @johnksss ,

It's been a long haul, and not being daily used yet, as I'm too busy to have finished the Paintwork yet, but it gets my trade plates on it and a good run up the Glen and back, around 32 miles, a couple or 3 times a month just to keep everything moving etc.

Have you actually read it from day one lol, get some popcorn and a flask of coffee / six pack of beers :wink

Cheers,
I sort of started skimming backward a bit, but I will take a closer look when I have time to concentrate. That's for sure.:grin
 

·
W220 Moderator
Joined
·
8,399 Posts
Discussion Starter · #494 ·
Hi @johnksss ,

Well I just spent around 1 hour per Car and went through all the Version Codings on both DCM's Cluster, EIS and even looked at PSE just in case, as I have done previously on my good Car, nada / zip , when I get enough time I will try swapping the clusters just to see, but that isn't really a good solution for me, as my car has 34k miles and the Breaker has 100k, so I'll only try that temporarily just to rule out a Cluster issue...................

Now, here's a thing, I have re coded the Breaker car so now it has "Convenience Settings" in the cluster menu, but nothing in that one to switch Power Fold upon Locking on or off ................

Weird !!

This looks like it's gonna take a whole bloody weekend of messing about, and I'll have to pull the plug on it at the moment, too much else to do around the house etc when I'm not doing paying work :(

Let me know if you get it sussed out, but at least I know DCM's and Switch are not the problem now. If it is the cluster I might see if my EEPROMMER guy can adjust the mileage back and then use that cluster :wink

However even then I'd only have one touch, and still need to figure if Fold upon Lock is actually possible :confused:

I too hope it isn't the Mirrors, as I wiped out the Drivers one on the lift post recently when I had my "little accident" in the workshop with that Car :wink

Cheers for now,
 

·
Registered
2001 S430
Joined
·
393 Posts
Hi @johnksss ,

Well I just spent around 1 hour per Car and went through all the Version Codings on both DCM's Cluster, EIS and even looked at PSE just in case, as I have done previously on my good Car, nada / zip , when I get enough time I will try swapping the clusters just to see, but that isn't really a good solution for me, as my car has 34k miles and the Breaker has 100k, so I'll only try that temporarily just to rule out a Cluster issue...................

Now, here's a thing, I have re coded the Breaker car so now it has "Convenience Settings" in the cluster menu, but nothing in that one to switch Power Fold upon Locking on or off ................

Weird !!

This looks like it's gonna take a whole bloody weekend of messing about, and I'll have to pull the plug on it at the moment, too much else to do around the house etc when I'm not doing paying work :(

Let me know if you get it sussed out, but at least I know DCM's and Switch are not the problem now. If it is the cluster I might see if my EEPROMMER guy can adjust the mileage back and then use that cluster :wink

However even then I'd only have one touch, and still need to figure if Fold upon Lock is actually possible :confused:

I too hope it isn't the Mirrors, as I wiped out the Drivers one on the lift post recently when I had my "little accident" in the workshop with that Car :wink

Cheers for now,
Don't worry. Nothing will change as far as mileage is concerned. Unless you drive the car. And I can tell you how to reprogram that back. It's easier on 00 and 01's as the mileage is only stored in the cluster.

It's in there, but I don't have the C4 here handy as to take pictures of exactly were. If you haven't found it out by Monday or Tuesday, I should have the information then.

If you have 1 touch you have auto fold on lock/unlock. That seems to be the general consensus. And if you do not have 1 touch then you do not have auto fold.

Ah man, now that would totally suck, but you would still hear it trying as long as the motor worked.(Speculations)

Next outing to the workshop this one should be easy.
Turn the key one click.
Set menu to mileage showing on lcd screen.
Hit the reset button 3 times fairly quick and see if a new menu pops up. Do this on both cars. Curiosity is getting the better of me right now. :grin
 

·
Registered
2009 E350 4M Avant Garde, My Mistress 2002 S600, Wife 2014 C300 4M Avant Garde with AMG
Joined
·
1,104 Posts
I read somewhere in the MB W220 Service Bulletins that in any warranty replacement instrument cluster the auto fold mirror function has been disabled (the cluster menu choice was not disabled).
My S600 MY 2002 as per history had the instrument cluster replaced, and sure enough, it does not auto fold.

Hope this helps
 

·
Registered
2001 S430
Joined
·
393 Posts
I read somewhere in the MB W220 Service Bulletins that in any warranty replacement instrument cluster the auto fold mirror function has been disabled (the cluster menu choice was not disabled).
My S600 MY 2002 as per history had the instrument cluster replaced, and sure enough, it does not auto fold.

Hope this helps
Did it auto fold before?
 

·
Registered
2009 E350 4M Avant Garde, My Mistress 2002 S600, Wife 2014 C300 4M Avant Garde with AMG
Joined
·
1,104 Posts
don't know, got the 7 years ago, cluster was changed before. The S600 operators manual says this function is original.
 

·
W220 Moderator
Joined
·
8,399 Posts
Discussion Starter · #500 · (Edited)
Hi @johnksss @Kraut56 ,

Aha ...............

Now we are getting somewhere .................

My S Class had it's cluster replaced at main dealer in 2005 according to it's history.

Neither of these Cars has "Redundant Mileage" stored in their EIS, so they will stay at the Mileage on the Cluster ...........
I have never had any success personally trying to adjust mileage with SDS, when doing cluster swaps on customers cars, perhaps you could pm me how you do this ?? ;)

The "Breaker Car" is AFAIK on it's original Cluster.

The Breaker Car did have both Mirrors doing "One Touch" folding, until it's crash, now it is just the Passenger one, no surprise there as I picked up the "Folding Motor" and other broken bits off the floor and binned it all :wink

I have never heard anything to suggest that the Mirrors are different ?????????????????????

However, there is no option in it's cluster to "Fold Mirrors upon lock" and despite having "One Touch" folding that works, it has never "Folded upon Lock" since I got it a few weeks back.

I'll go try the Menu and Reset Button thing right now, as I've got to move the Cars around, but sadly I'll be too busy to do anything else with SDS this week ;) ....................................

OK, My Car (34 k miles) successfully brought up the SW / HW Versions etc when doing the sequence you asked, the breaker Car (103k) miles stubbornly remained showing it's "Mileage Screen" :dunno:
Although both Cars were running when I photo'd the Mileages, they were definitely both in Ign pos 1 when I tried the Reset Button trick btw !!

I do agree with John, I suspect this is just a Version Coding issue in my Cluster, but what and where ?????????????

I have spent hours with this, on several occasions now and we also now know for certain it is not my DCM's or Mirror Switches !!

see pix ..................
 

Attachments

  • Like
Reactions: johnksss
481 - 500 of 524 Posts
Top