Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
95 S500, 07 S550 AMG
791 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello everyone,
This is my first post on the w220 section. This is because I am posting for a friend. (I originally own a w140)

It's a 2001 S500 AMG package.. with what we think is a suspension problem.

The car is very loose on the highway. It drags the car if it hits a bump and when turning it doesn't feel stiff at all, I would describe it as very wobbly(Like a boat.)
You can hear the pump/compressor when you raise the car with a button, but it's loud and doesn't sound normal. Also, the car raises up and down, but it won't raise the car all the way to the top.

My friend thinks it's the pump/compressor, but I suspect there is a leak somewhere. Yes, it could be the compressor going bad at this point, but i think if the compressor iss raising the car, then it's not the issue. Feel free to comment at any time, after all I'm not a mechanic but it makes sense that the pump is struggling to raise the car due to an air leak. I feel because raising the car to the highest point requires a lot of pressure, the amount of air going out the leak increases, and fails to bring the car at the highest point. Also makes sense to think the pump is making a louder noise because it's a sign showing it's working more than usual. Again, this is what I think but I am looking for a feedback from you guys.

Another thing, I need to know if the car has ABC vs Airmatic. I had him call the dealer to double check and the dealer told him he has Airmatic and that's the same thing. I don't think he has Airmatic despite what the guy from the dealer told him over the phone (he could of talked to someone who had no clue about suspension.)

Correct me if I'm wrong but to my understanding all the AMG 500's and S600's are ABC equipped.

I need to know this before jumping into conclusions as both systems are different.